Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Editorial selection · not an official ranking

Best Counseling Schools in the USA

Colleges and universities whose own counseling programs — not the institution's general reputation — meet our published criteria. A school is selected when it offers at least two verified counseling programs, at least one with a current CACREP accreditation matched to that program, and at least one selected in our master's, online, clinical mental health, school counseling or doctoral lists. Listed alphabetically; an editorial assessment, not an official ranking.

Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 50 schools selected of 59 in the directory

About this selection

Eligible degrees
Schools with at least two verified counselor-preparation programs in this directory. Counseling psychology programs do not count toward a school's inclusion.
Programs considered
All 59 schools in our directory, evaluated only on their verified counseling programs. Institutional reputation and other departments are not considered.
Selection criteria
At least two verified counselor-preparation programs, at least one with a current CACREP accreditation matched to that program, and at least one selected in our program lists. The school analysis below summarizes the evidence across its programs.
Order
Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
Sponsorship
Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
Sources
Official pages of each school, linked fact by fact on each program page; programmatic accreditation from the official CACREP directory; institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP). Desk research only — we did not visit or interview programs.
Evidence limitations
Outcome figures (completion, licensure-exam pass rates, employment) are not used: programs report them for different periods, cohorts and examinations. Selection says nothing about licensure eligibility in your state.
  1. Adams State University: 3 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2009.
    • Estimated total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1994.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  2. Auburn University: 7 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 7 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • The program places students at fieldwork sites.
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  3. Augusta University: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 150 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $51,780 (60 credits × $863 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AK, AS, CA, GU, HI, ID, IL, MA, MI, NV, NM, NY, MP, OR, PA, PR, RI, TX, VI, DC).
  4. Bradley University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AK, FL, ID, MA, MT, PA, RI, UT, VT).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  5. Capella University

    Minneapolis, MN

    Capella University: 6 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 6 matched to CACREP; 6 with online coursework; 6 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2002.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  6. Central Michigan University logo

    Central Michigan University

    Mount Pleasant, MI

    Central Michigan University: 6 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 6 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 6 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2019.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Online coursework with no required campus attendance (stated by the school).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  7. Emporia State University: 6 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 4 specialties; 6 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2020.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $32,005.40 (published total; fees excluded).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1996.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  8. George Fox University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2011.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 700 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $50,880 (published total; fees excluded).
    • Estimated total tuition $54,272 (published total; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
  9. Grand Canyon University: 5 verified counseling programs across 3 degree levels and 4 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 5 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2024.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $37,820 (62 credits × $610 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (56 states printed).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AS, CT, GU, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, MD, MN, NE, MP, PR, VI, UT).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
  10. Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 1 specialty; 2 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 700 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $50,940 (60 credits × $849 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (IN, IA, NV, NH).
  11. Indiana Wesleyan University: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 4 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2012.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $38,100 (60 credits × $635 per credit; fees excluded).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2005.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  12. Liberty University logo

    Liberty University

    Lynchburg, VA

    Liberty University: 6 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 5 specialties; 5 matched to CACREP; 4 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2017.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $36,000 (60 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  13. Marquette University: 3 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2013.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $64,800 (60 credits × $1,080 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (56 states printed).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  14. Messiah University logo

    Messiah University

    Mechanicsburg, PA

    Messiah University: 3 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2011.
    • Online coursework with no required campus attendance (stated by the school).
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  15. Minnesota State University, Mankato: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2007.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Both full-time and part-time study are offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AS, GU, MP, PR, VI).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  16. Mississippi State University logo

    Mississippi State University

    Mississippi State, MS

    Mississippi State University: 6 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 6 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 6 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2012.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $100,299 (60 credits × $1,671.65 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  17. Montana State University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1991.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $82,566 (60 credits × $1,376.10 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  18. Montclair State University: 5 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 5 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2016.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $57,720 (60 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Both full-time and part-time study are offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  19. North Carolina State University: 7 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 7 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 7 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2011.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AL, AK, AS, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, GU, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, ND, MP, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, VI, UT, VT, VA, WA, DC, WV, WI, WY).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
  20. Northwestern University: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 1 specialty; 2 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 1 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2013.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 200 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  21. Ohio University logo

    Ohio University

    Athens, OH

    Ohio University: 7 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 7 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2009.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1985.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  22. Old Dominion University: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2007.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $39,720 (60 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
  23. Oregon State University: 5 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 5 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2023.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $57,870 (90 credits × $643 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (55 states printed).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  24. Palo Alto University: 3 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2015.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 700 practicum hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  25. Pennsylvania State University: 3 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2012.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $121,680 (60 credits × $2,028 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  26. Regent University logo

    Regent University

    Virginia Beach, VA

    Regent University: 7 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 7 matched to CACREP; 4 with online coursework; 6 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Estimated total tuition $45,000 (60 credits × $750 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (51 states printed).
    • Estimated total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AR, CA, FL, WA).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  27. Sacred Heart University: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 1 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 1 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $54,000 (published total; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AS, GU, MP, PR, VI).
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AS, DE, GU, IL, IA, KS, LA, MA, ND, MP, OR, PR, VI, UT, VA, WV, WY).
  28. Seattle University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2016.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $70,110 (published total; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
  29. South Dakota State University: 5 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 5 specialties; 5 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 5 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2015.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  30. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center: 3 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2019.
    • Estimated total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (56 states printed).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AS, AR, CA, DE, FL, GU, IA, NV, NY, UT, VT, WI).
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  31. The University of Alabama: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1980.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 600 internship hours.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  32. University at Buffalo: 5 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 3 specialties; 1 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 1 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2017.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 150 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Both full-time and part-time study are offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  33. University of Alaska Fairbanks: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2016.
    • Online coursework with no required campus attendance (stated by the school).
    • Estimated total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  34. University of Arizona: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2019.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  35. University of Central Florida: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1996.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $80,418.24 (63 credits × $1,276.48 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • The GRE is required.
  36. University of Louisiana at Monroe: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2012.
    • Online coursework with no required campus attendance (stated by the school).
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  37. University of Massachusetts Boston: 5 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 4 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 4 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  38. University of Missouri–St. Louis: 3 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 3 specialties; 3 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 3 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2012.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $102,720 (60 credits × $1,712 per credit; fees excluded).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1999.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  39. University of North Carolina at Greensboro: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2009.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 600 internship hours.
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1979.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  40. University of North Texas: 5 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 5 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 5 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2010.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $28,680 (60 credits × $478 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • The GRE is required.
  41. University of Oklahoma: 3 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 1 specialty; 2 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Estimated total tuition $69,222 (60 credits × $1,153.70 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (55 states printed).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2025.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (FL, NC).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  42. University of Tennessee at Martin: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2022.
    • Estimated total tuition $45,840 (60 credits × $764 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (53 states printed).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (CA, TX).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  43. University of the Cumberlands: 2 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 1 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Estimated total tuition $26,940 (60 credits × $449 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Whether campus visits are required is not stated on the pages we checked.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  44. Utah Valley University: 3 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 1 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 1 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2024.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $67,800 (60 credits × $1,130 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
  45. Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, NC

    Wake Forest University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2009.
    • Publishes a state-by-state licensure disclosure (52 states printed).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1993.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 185 practicum + 600 internship hours.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • The school states the program does not meet educational requirements in some states (AR, CA, FL, MI, TN).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
  46. Walden University

    Minneapolis, MN

    Walden University: 4 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 4 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 4 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2015.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $55,000 (100 credits × $550 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    • Practicum and internship are required, but clock hours are not published on the pages we checked.
  47. West Virginia University: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 1 specialty; 2 matched to CACREP; 1 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2023.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.
    • Estimated total tuition $115,320 (60 credits × $1,922 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
  48. William & Mary

    Williamsburg, VA

    William & Mary: 6 verified counseling programs across 2 degree levels and 5 specialties; 5 matched to CACREP; 3 with online coursework; 5 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2014.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $97,860 (60 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Placement assistance for practicum and internship is documented.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Online, but requires campus residencies or visits — plan for travel.
  49. Winthrop University

    Rock Hill, SC

    Winthrop University: 4 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 4 matched to CACREP; 2 with online coursework; 4 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 2015.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 175 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $60,240 (60 credits × $1,004 per credit; fees excluded).
    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1999.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Students secure their own practicum and internship sites (with program approval).
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
  50. Wright State University: 2 verified counseling programs across 1 degree level and 2 specialties; 2 matched to CACREP; 0 with online coursework; 2 selected in our program lists.

    Counseling programs supporting this selection

    Strengths in the official information

    • CACREP-accredited for this specialty since 1987.
    • Fieldwork hours are published: 100 practicum + 600 internship hours.
    • Estimated total tuition $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.

Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.