Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Emporia State University logo

Emporia State University · Counselor Education, School of Applied Health Sciences

Clinical Counseling - Addictions Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit MS in Clinical Counseling with an addictions counseling concentration, offered as a hybrid of on-campus and online coursework, with a supervised practicum and a 600 clock hour internship.

Official program name
Clinical Counseling - Addictions Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Clinical Counseling
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Emporia, KS
Required credits
60 hours (45 core + 15 concentration)
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Summer, Fall, Spring
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master of Science in Clinical Counseling with an addictions counseling concentration.

Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Hybrid campus schedule
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCE 898 Supervised Practicum in Counseling (3 credits)
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 clock hour internship at addictions or mental health counseling sites
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
700 clock hours of practical experience in total
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesCandidates are encouraged to obtain practicum and internship sites suited to their concentration
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Weekly clinical supervision from licensed instructors
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Written comprehensive examination in the final semester; a master's thesis is an alternative
    Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredOfficial transcripts showing earned BS, BA, BFA, or BSE degree
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, or 3.25 on the last 60 semester hours, and/or graduate GPA 3.0
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Psychology prerequisites
RequiredPrerequisite of, or concurrent enrollment in, Abnormal Psychology
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three references, at least one from a current or former supervisor if relevant
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with faculty, in person or via distance technology
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredDepartment application built within the Graduate School application; copy of government-issued ID
Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 1 (all admission materials); interviews March/April · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 1 (all admission materials); interviews July/August · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1 (all admission materials); interviews October/November · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Addiction Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 9, 2020 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Emporia State University has been approved to join the Midwestern State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (M-SARA). Official pageSource: emporia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. emporia.edu/academics-majors/academic-affairs/office-registrar/authorization/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/clinical-counseling-h — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/clinical-counseling-h — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/clinical-counseling-h — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/clinical-counseling-h — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. emporia.edu/applied-health-sciences/counselor-education-home/graduate-programs/clinical-counseling-h — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. emporia.edu/documents/4334/2026-2027_ESU_Catalog.pdf — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Kansas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Counseling, M.A. (Mt. Pleasant hybrid) - Addiction Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,062 per credit · International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Montclair State University

MA in Counseling, Addictions Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Montclair, NJ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as little as 2½ to 3 years (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $962 per credit · All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and Spring · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $57,720 (60 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Emporia State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.