Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Clinical Mental Health Counseling Programs

Clinical mental health counseling (CMHC) programs prepare counselors to work with individuals, couples, families and groups in community agencies, private practice, hospitals and treatment settings. They are the usual route toward professional counselor licensure (LPC, LMHC, LPCC, LCPC or a similar state title), which also requires post-degree supervised experience and an examination.

Rule: Included when the program's own official title or description names clinical mental health counseling as its specialty. Other specialties offered by the same school are not counted. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – Clinical Mental Health Counseling Option

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $13,578 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – Clinical Mental Health Counseling Option

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Augusta University logo

Augusta University

Master of Education with a Major in Counselor Education and a Concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Augusta, GA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required150 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $238 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State, 1-11 hours · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $51,780 (60 credits × $863 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: February 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Bellevue, NESchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $680 per credit · All students — Graduate Online & On Campus · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,800 (60 credits × $680 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (MA)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Peoria, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,158 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Online Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Peoria, ILSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: approximately three years (part-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,158 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 8, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
California State University, Fullerton logo

California State University, Fullerton

M.S. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and Marriage and Family Therapy (Traditional Program)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Fullerton, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum required800 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: can be completed in less than four years and up to five years depending on the pace chosen by the student (depends on the pace chosen by the student) · 63 credits
Tuition: $8,548 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduates and Post-Baccalaureate Full-Time (7 units or more per semester), California residents, 9-month mandatory tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: January 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Capella University

MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Addiction Treatment and Recovery

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 39 months with no additional credits; 57 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capella University

MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Child and Adolescent Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 39 months with no additional credits; 57 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capella University

MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – General Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 39 months with no additional credits; 57 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Counseling, M.A. (Mt. Pleasant hybrid) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,062 per credit · International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Online Counseling, M.A. - Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Mount Pleasant, MISchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,062 per credit · International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Emporia State University logo

Emporia State University

MS, Clinical Counseling - Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Emporia, KS
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, OR
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, ORSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Online Master’s in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Phoenix, AZSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 62 credits
Tuition: $610 per credit · Online students — Online · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,820 (62 credits × $610 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: Two-year minimum, and Six-year maximum · 60 credits
Tuition: $635 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $38,100 (60 credits × $635 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Residential)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: At 60 credit hours, this program can be completed in about 3 years. · 60 credits
Tuition: $5,175 per semester · All students — Graduate tuition, full-time (residential) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · Online students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $36,000 (60 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program