Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online master's program in clinical mental health counseling with 100 practicum hours, 600 internship hours and two residencies, which the catalog says are held on campus in person from Summer 2026.

Official program name
Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Bellevue, NEWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 total credit hours
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical mental health counseling.

Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two residency experiences: the first after MCC 500, the second after MCC 670 and before Internship I.

    two residencies

    Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 practicum hours (40% direct client contact)
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 clinical internship hours (40% direct client contact)
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Practicum and internship hours are completed under the supervision of a licensed counselor.
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Students outside the area can complete internship hours close to home with a site approved by the Clinical Coordinator.
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Students who take longer than 5 calendar years must repeat coursework older than 4 years unless the Program Director approves otherwise.
    Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredCompleted bachelor's degree
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA in the most recent 60 credit hours; applicants below 3.0 may appeal for program director review
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Required6 credit hours in behavioral sciences (e.g., psychology, sociology, anthropology, social work)
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required1,000-word essay describing interest in the study of clinical counseling
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two current letters of recommendation from professional sources
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent professional résumé
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground check
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Graduate application fee $75 (non-refundable; waived for alumni)
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCompleted Mental Health Certificate
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Online & On CampusFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$680per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$40,800 = 60 credits × $680 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $40,800 (60 credits × $680 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Online & On Campus, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

MCC 698 Residency I
$350 per courseMandatory
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MCC 699 Residency II
$350 per courseMandatory
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
General College Fee
$300 per termMandatory
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Graduation
$100Mandatory
Source: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since January 13, 2016 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Bellevue University is a member of NC-SARA; state licensing board requirements may restrict certain programs in certain states. Official pageSource: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureThis program is offered in states where Bellevue University has determined it meets educational requirements for a specific professional license or certification; see the State Licensing/Certification webpage. Official disclosureSource: bellevue.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. bellevue.edu/about/state-authorization/state-authorizations — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. bellevue.edu/degrees/master/clinical-mental-health-counseling-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. bellevue.edu/tuition-and-aid/tuition-rates-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Nebraska first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Bellevue University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.