Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University · Farrington College of Education & Human Development

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, low-residency online M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with asynchronous and synchronous courses and two week-long residencies on the Fairfield, Connecticut campus. Fieldwork in the final terms includes a 100-hour practicum and two 300-hour internships in a clinical mental health setting.

Official program name
Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fairfield, CTWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as few as 2 yearsA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical mental health counseling.

Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two week-long on-ground residencies: one in the first term, one in the term before clinical experience courses

    2 residencies, one week each · Fairfield, CT

    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. CMH 650 Practicum: 100 hours of supervised practice, 40 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required300 hours. CMH 660 Internship: 300 hours of supervised practice, 120 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required300 hours. CMH 670 Advanced Internship: 300 hours of supervised practice, 120 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
OptionalCMH 680 Advanced Internship II elective for students in states requiring more supervised clinical hours
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Clinical placements in a clinical mental health counseling setting during the final terms
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Group supervision from instructors and individual supervision from approved site supervisors
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum and internship require regular on-site availability during standard counseling hours; early search for a clinical placement site near work or home is recommended
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • COU 699 Counselor Education Comprehensive Exam, pass/fail, taken with CMH 660; required to graduate
    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • Two electives chosen according to the intended state of licensure
    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Cumulative undergraduate GPA of 2.75 or better
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredResponses to personal statement form questions
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation (one academic, one employer or volunteer supervisor)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVideo conference interview
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Application fee: $75
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all colleges and universities attended
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not requiredInternational students are not able to apply for this online program.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredState-specific acknowledgment form completed with a Counseling Program faculty member
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredAssessment related to readiness for online education
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredNo standardized testing (GRE or MAT) required.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Cost per credit hour$900per creditEstimated tuition$54,000 = 60 credits × $900 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Total estimated cost, minus fees$54,000entire programSource: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $54,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total estimated cost, minus fees, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Registration fee (once per 14-week semester)
$115 per semesterMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Library fee (once per 14-week semester)
$40 per semesterMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
$75Mandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
COUN599 one-time course fee
$228 entire programMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application for graduation fee
$160Mandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Residency fee (COU 520 and COU 610)
$450 per courseMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 13, 2022 · current cycle ends March 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Some state counseling licensure boards restrict out-of-state students; the degree is not offered in every state. Official pageSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Approval for institutional SARA participation was granted by the State of Connecticut Office of Higher Education on January 11, 2017. Official pageSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • Some states require specific electives, listed by state on the CMHC Licensure & Disclosures page.
    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureSHU does not guarantee that completion of the degree will result in state licensure; additional requirements include a national exam and post-master's supervised experience. Official disclosureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetNoSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetNoSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetNoSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetNoSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetNoSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Yes* (see the CMHC Disclosures page for more information)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)YesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/how-to-apply/faq/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. sacredheart.edu/about-shu/consumer-information/state-authorization-disclosures--student-complaints/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling---ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling---ma/admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling---ma/cmhc-licensure--disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  11. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling---ma/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  12. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  13. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/certification--disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Connecticut first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Study part time and complete in 3 years (part-time cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Residents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Sacred Heart University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.