Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University · Farrington College of Education & Human Development

School Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed

Overview

A 60-credit, low-residency online M.A. in School Counseling with asynchronous and synchronous courses and two week-long residencies on the Fairfield, Connecticut campus. Fieldwork totals 800 hours in PK-12 school settings: a 100-hour practicum and two 350-hour internships.

Official program name
School Counseling - MA
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in School Counseling
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fairfield, CTWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hour program (60-63 credit hours on the online program page)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as few as 2 yearsA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling.

Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two week-long on-ground residencies, during COU 520 (first term) and COU 610

    2 residencies, one week each · Fairfield, CT

    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum: 100 hours of supervised practice, 40 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required350 hours. Initial internship: 350 hours of supervised practice, 120 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required350 hours. Advanced internship: 350 hours of supervised practice, 120 direct service
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Fieldwork totaling 800 hours in PK-12 school settings during the final terms
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college or university
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredResponses to personal statement form questions
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation (one academic, one employer or volunteer supervisor)
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredRésumé
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVideo conference interview with faculty
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Application Fee: $75
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedInternational students on an F-1 visa are not permitted to enroll in online programs.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredState-specific acknowledgment form completed in conversation with the school counseling program director
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Cost per credit hour$800per creditEstimated tuition$48,000 = 60 credits × $800 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Total estimated cost, minus fees$48,000entire programSource: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $48,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total estimated cost, minus fees, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Registration Fee (once per 14-week semester)
$115 per semesterMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Library Fee (once per 14-week semester)
$40 per semesterMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
COU 599 one-time course fee
$228 entire programMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Residency fee (COU 520 and COU 610)
$450 per courseMandatory
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationDesigned to prepare candidates for school counselor certification/licensure in many states; SHU does not admit students who live in or will seek licensure in states where the curriculum does not meet requirements. Official disclosureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum meets the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingDoes not meetCurriculum does not meet the educational requirements for school counseling certification/licensure; SHU does not admit students living in or seeking licensure in these statesSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/ma-masters-school-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/ma-masters-school-counseling/admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/ma-masters-school-counseling/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/certification--disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Connecticut first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Sacred Heart University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.