Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Online School Counseling Degrees and Programs

School counseling programs whose coursework is delivered online. School counseling fieldwork takes place in PK–12 schools, usually near where you live, under a certified school counselor; some programs also require campus residencies. School counselor credentials are granted by each state's education agency, so check the program's certification statement for the state where you plan to work.

Rule: Included when the program's verified delivery is online and its official title or description names school counseling. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – School Counseling Option (Certification)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in personPlacement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Online Master of Arts in Counseling - Professional School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Peoria, ILSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: approximately three years (part-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,158 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 8, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

Capella University

MS in School Counseling – Addiction Treatment and Recovery

Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling

School Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 45 months with no additional credits; 51 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capella University

MS in School Counseling – Child and Adolescent Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 45 months with no additional credits; 51 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capella University

MS in School Counseling – General School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residencies; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 45 months with no additional credits; 51 months with additional credits (tuition estimate) (no transfer credits; additional credits where a state requires more coursework) · 90 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students — GuidedPath tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,250 (90 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Online Counseling, M.A. - School Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Mount Pleasant, MISchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,062 per credit · International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Emporia State University logo

Emporia State University

School Counseling, MS

Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Emporia, KSSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: approximately 2 1/2 - 3 years (most candidates take one to two courses per semester); seven-year limit (one to two courses per semester) · 60 credits
Tuition: $23,412.20 entire program · Resident (in-state) — School Counseling Online KS-Resident & Corky Plus (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Online MEd in School Counseling Degree

Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling (Leads to Initial Licensure)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Phoenix, AZSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $625 per credit · Online students — Online · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,500 (60 credits × $625 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Master's in School Counseling Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 2.5-year minimum, and 6-year maximum · 60 credits
Tuition: $610 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,600 (60 credits × $610 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Online Master’s in School Counseling (MEd)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (MEd) in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · Online students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour (the M.Ed. teaching rate excludes School of Behavioral Sciences programs) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $36,000 (60 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Messiah University logo

Messiah University

Master of Arts in Counseling - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Mechanicsburg, PASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Two-, three- and four-year timelines (up to six years allowed) (two-year model is accelerated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $820 per credit · All students — No-fee tuition per graduate credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Montana State University logo

Montana State University

Online Master of Education in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Bozeman, MTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: as little as 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

School Counseling (Online Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Study part time and complete in 3 years (part-time cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Residents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

School Counseling Online Master's Degree (ME6332)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OHSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 60 credit hours — most finish in 6-7 semesters · 60 credits
Tuition: $533 per credit · Resident (in-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $33,300 (60 credits × $555 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 2, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

School Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $800 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: May 24, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

School Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Masters of Arts in Education, School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — School Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (School Counseling concentration: Elementary, Secondary or K-12)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Denver logo

University of Denver

Online Master of Arts in School Counseling (SchoolCounseling@Denver)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Denver, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as 22 months (full-time) · 90 credits
Tuition: $1,120 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $100,800 (90 credits × $1,120 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 23, 2026 · January 2027
View Program