Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Indiana Wesleyan University campus — Indiana Wesleyan University's regional education center
Indiana Wesleyan University's regional education center. Campus photograph of Indiana Wesleyan University. · Photo: Cameron Davis · CC BY 2.5 · source
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Marion, INPrivate nonprofit HLCOfficial website

Indiana Wesleyan University's Division of Counseling, in the School of Integrated Health of the College of Adult and Professional Studies, offers master's degrees in clinical mental health counseling, school counseling, clinical addictions counseling and community care, and an online bachelor's degree in addictions counseling. Most graduate programs are delivered online with required onsite intensives.

Counseling programs at Indiana Wesleyan University

4 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 3 master's); formats: online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Bachelor's Degrees in Counseling

Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Bachelor of Science in Addictions Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Bachelor'sBSCACREP: not listedDegree completion
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum required350 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: as little as two years (one course at a time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $405 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,600 (120 credits × $405 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: Two-year minimum, and Six-year maximum · 60 credits
Tuition: $635 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $38,100 (60 credits × $635 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Master's in School Counseling Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 2.5-year minimum, and 6-year maximum · 60 credits
Tuition: $610 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,600 (60 credits × $610 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Online Master's in Addiction Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Addictions Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $610 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,280 (48 credits × $610 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1966 · next review 08/31/2030

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “Indiana Wesleyan University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC).” Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • IWU is a member institution of NC-SARA and is authorized to deliver distance education courses and programs in all SARA-member states.
    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Master in Marriage and Family Therapy (Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy)Standalone MFT, outside core directory.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Graduate Certificate in Addictions CounselingCertificate, not a degree.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Indiana Wesleyan University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
4201 South Washington Street, Marion, IN 46953-4974
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
1 bachelor's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. indwes.edu/about/student-consumer-information/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/division-of-counseling. — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. indwes.edu/program/MA-Counseling/Marriage-and-Family-Counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. indwes.edu/program/MA-Counseling/School-Counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile