Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University · Division of Counseling

Bachelor of Science in Addictions Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Bachelor'sBSCACREP: not listedDegree completion

Overview

An online BS in Addictions Counseling completion program for students with at least 60 transferable credits, requiring 120 credit hours in total and 350 supervised practicum hours.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Addictions Counseling
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Addictions Counseling
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Counseling specialty
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Undergraduate preparationA bachelor's degree. It does not by itself qualify anyone for independent clinical practice; professional counselor licensure requires a graduate degree.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Marion, INWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
120 credit hours total; 45 credit hours in the program core
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as little as two years (one course at a time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Degree completion program. At least 60 transferable credit hours required before starting the core program.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

A bachelor's degree in counseling is undergraduate preparation. It does not by itself qualify anyone for independent clinical practice; professional counselor licensure requires a graduate degree, supervised experience and an examination.

This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor's degree whose title names addictions counseling.

Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required350 hours. 350 supervised hours of practicum field experience.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
Students may be required to undergo background checks and drug testing to participate in practicum courses.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredProof of standard high school diploma or GED.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Psychology prerequisites
RequiredPSY-150 (General Psychology) or equivalent before starting the core program.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$405per creditEstimated tuition$48,600 = 120 credits × $405 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $48,600 (120 credits × $405 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • IWU is a member institution of NC-SARA and is authorized to deliver distance education courses and programs in all SARA-member states. Official pageSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureThe page states the program supports licensure pathways toward the Indiana LAC-A and LAC credentials; students should review requirements in their state. Official disclosureSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. indwes.edu/about/student-consumer-information/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/division-of-counseling. — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. indwes.edu/program/BS-Addictions-Counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University

Online Bachelor’s Degree in Counseling: Substance Use Disorder Emphasis

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Counseling with an Emphasis in Addiction, Chemical Dependency, and Substance Abuse

Addiction Counseling

Bachelor'sBSCACREP: not listedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Phoenix, AZSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $490 per credit · Online students — Online · year not statedEst. total tuition $58,800 (120 credits × $490 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.