Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Affordable Online Counseling Master's Programs

Looking for an affordable online master's in counseling? Published prices are not directly comparable — one university charges per credit, another per term, a third publishes a whole-program price, and residents and nonresidents often pay different rates. Below, 77 of the 91 verified online master's programs in our directory are compared on one consistent basis. We do not claim this is the cheapest program in the country: it is the lowest estimated tuition among the programs we have verified. Cost is only one factor — check CACREP status, campus residencies and how practicum sites are found before choosing on price.

How the estimate is calculated

Estimated total tuition = published per-credit tuition × required credits

  • When the university publishes a whole-program tuition figure, that figure is used as published.
  • Residency category: the rate for all students (or the online rate), or — when rates differ by residency — the nonresident (out-of-state) rate, the rate an applicant from another state pays. A resident-only rate is never used.
  • Credits: the required credits the program publishes. Where a range is published (for example with waivable prerequisite courses), the published figure recorded on the program page is used and the range is noted there.
  • Academic year: each rate's year is shown (2025-2026, 2026-2027, not stated). Rates usually rise each year, so a multi-year program costs more than this estimate.
  • Excluded: mandatory and technology fees, practicum and liability-insurance fees, background checks, application fees, books, travel to required residencies or immersions, transfer-credit reductions and future rate changes.
Missing data never counts as cheap. Programs that publish tuition on a basis we cannot convert — per term without a published number of terms, or no tuition at all — are listed separately below, not ranked.

Total vs annual tuition

Annual (per academic year) tuition is what one year costs a full-time student; total tuition is what the whole degree costs. Most counseling master's degrees require around 60 credits, so per-credit differences add up — compare totals.

Online counseling master's programs by estimated total tuition

Lowest to highest estimated total tuition on the basis described above. Fees excluded; verify the current rate on each program page.
School and programFormatPublished rate usedCreditsEstimated total tuition
Grand Canyon UniversityOnline Master’s in Addiction Counseling DegreeOnline$610 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated36$21,960rate × credits
Utah Valley UniversityMaster of Education in School Counseling, M.Ed. (Online cohort)Online$467.46 per creditAll students — Cost of attendance per credit hour as printed on program page · year not stated48$22,438.08rate × credits
University of the CumberlandsOnline Master's in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$449 per creditOnline students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not stated60$26,940rate × credits
Liberty UniversityMaster’s in Addiction Counseling OnlineOnline$600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-202748$28,800rate × credits
The University of AlabamaRehabilitation Counseling, MAOnline$28,800 entire programOnline students — Program total, 60 hours, 2025-2026 tuition rates · 2025-202660$28,800published total
Indiana Wesleyan UniversityOnline Master's in Addiction CounselingOnline$610 per creditAll students · year not stated48$29,280rate × credits
Emporia State UniversityMS - Clinical Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Deaf and Hard of HearingOnline$32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-202760$32,005.40published total
Emporia State UniversityMS-Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Autism Spectrum DisorderOnline$32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-202760$32,005.40published total
Emporia State UniversitySchool Counseling, MSOnline$32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — School Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-202760$32,005.40published total
Adams State UniversityM.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online)Online$545 per creditAll students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-202760$32,700rate × credits
Adams State UniversityM.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)Online$545 per creditAll students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-202760$32,700rate × credits
University of Louisiana at MonroeMaster of Science in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health CounselingFully online coursework$550 per creditAll students · year not stated60$33,000rate × credits
University of Louisiana at MonroeMaster of Science in Counseling - School CounselingFully online coursework$550 per creditAll students · year not stated60$33,000rate × credits
Ohio UniversitySchool Counseling Online Master's Degree (ME6332)Online$555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hour · 2026-202760$33,300rate × credits
Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAddiction Counseling (M.S.) - OnlineOnline$579 per creditOnline students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-202760$34,740rate × credits
Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterClinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - OnlineOnline$579 per creditOnline students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-202760$34,740rate × credits
Liberty UniversityMA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree OnlineOnline$600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-202760$36,000rate × credits
Liberty UniversityOnline Master’s in School Counseling (MEd)Online$600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour (the M.Ed. teaching rate excludes School of Behavioral Sciences programs) · 2026-202760$36,000rate × credits
Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)Online$602.50 per creditAll students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not stated60$36,150rate × credits
Indiana Wesleyan UniversityMaster's in School Counseling OnlineOnline$610 per creditAll students · year not stated60$36,600rate × credits
Grand Canyon UniversityOnline MEd in School Counseling DegreeOnline$625 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated60$37,500rate × credits
Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Distance)Online$630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated60$37,800rate × credits
Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (Distance)Online$630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated60$37,800rate × credits
Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance)Online$630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated60$37,800rate × credits
Grand Canyon UniversityOnline Master’s in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$610 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated62$37,820rate × credits
Indiana Wesleyan UniversityMaster's in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$635 per creditAll students · year not stated60$38,100rate × credits
Old Dominion UniversityCounseling - Clinical Mental Health Master's Program (online, ODUGlobal)Online$662 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — ODUGlobal program page, out-of-state students per credit hour, effective Fall 2026 · year not stated60$39,720rate × credits
University of Massachusetts BostonCounseling MEd (School Counseling), online programOnline$673 per creditOnline students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-202760$40,380rate × credits
University of Massachusetts BostonMental Health Counseling MS (online)Online$673 per creditOnline students — Mental Health Counseling -MS (Online track) · 2026-202760$40,380rate × credits
University of Massachusetts BostonRehabilitation Counseling MS — Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling trackOnline$673 per creditAll students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-202760$40,380rate × credits
University of Massachusetts BostonRehabilitation Counseling MS — Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling trackOnline$673 per creditAll students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-202760$40,380rate × credits
Bellevue UniversityMaster of Science in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$680 per creditAll students — Graduate Online & On Campus · 2026-202760$40,800rate × credits
Winthrop UniversityOnline M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in Clinical Mental HealthFully online coursework$41,940 entire programOnline students — Total tuition · year not stated60$41,940published total
Winthrop UniversityOnline M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in School CounselingFully online coursework$41,940 entire programOnline students — Total tuition · year not stated60$41,940published total
Regent UniversityM.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online w/ Residency)Online$730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) · 2026-202760$43,800rate × credits
Regent UniversityM.A. in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online w/ Residency)Online$730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online) · 2026-202760$43,800rate × credits
Regent UniversityM.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)Online$730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-202760$43,800rate × credits
University of Tennessee at MartinMSED: Counseling: Clinical Mental HealthOnline$764 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/international · 2026-202760$45,840rate × credits
University of Tennessee at MartinMSED: Counseling: SchoolOnline$764 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/international · 2026-202760$45,840rate × credits
West Virginia UniversityOnline Counseling, M.S. - Emphasis in Clinical Mental HealthOnline$764 per creditOnline students — Online program cost per credit hour · year not stated60$45,840rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Addiction Treatment and RecoveryOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Child and Adolescent CounselingOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – General Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – Addiction Treatment and RecoveryOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – Child and Adolescent CounselingOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – General School CounselingOnline$525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated90$47,250rate × credits
Sacred Heart UniversitySchool Counseling - MAOnline$48,000 entire programAll students — Total estimated cost, minus fees · year not stated60$48,000published total
University of KentuckyMaster's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$806 per creditOnline students · year not stated60$48,360rate × credits
University of KentuckyMaster's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation CounselingOnline$806 per creditOnline students · year not stated60$48,360rate × credits
Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts - Clinical Mental Health CounselingFully online coursework$49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-202760$49,200published total
Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts in Counseling - Marriage, Couple and Family CounselingFully online coursework$49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-202760$49,200published total
Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts in Counseling - School CounselingFully online coursework$49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-202760$49,200published total
Walden UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (General Program)Fully online coursework$550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated90$49,500rate × credits
Walden UniversityMS in School CounselingFully online coursework$550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated90$49,500rate × credits
William & MaryMilitary and Veterans Counseling (MVC) specialization, Online M.Ed. in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration)Online$825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-202760$49,500rate × credits
William & MaryOnline Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-202760$49,500rate × credits
William & MaryOnline Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in School CounselingOnline$825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-202760$49,500rate × credits
Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterClinical Rehabilitation Counseling (M.S.) - OnlineOnline$50,369 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Total program estimate, Non-Resident (60 credit hours) · 2026-2027—$50,369published total
University of OklahomaOnline Master of Clinical Mental Health CounselingFully online coursework$50,700 entire programOnline students — Program total · year not stated60$50,700published total
George Fox UniversityMaster's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)Online$50,880 entire programAll students · year not stated60$50,880published total
Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate SchoolMaster's in Counseling, Specialty: Addiction Counseling Online ProgramOnline$849 per creditAll students · 2026-202760$50,940rate × credits
Sacred Heart UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling - MAOnline$54,000 entire programAll students — Total estimated cost, minus fees · year not stated60$54,000published total
George Fox UniversityMaster's Degree in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)Online$54,272 entire programAll students · year not stated64$54,272published total
Walden UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Addiction Counseling specializationOnline$550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated100$55,000rate × credits
Marquette UniversityOnline Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$64,800 entire programOnline students — Total estimated tuition (60 credit hours) · 2026-202760$64,800published total
Bradley UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling - Professional School CounselingOnline$1,158 per creditAll students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-202760$69,480rate × credits
Bradley UniversityOnline Master's in Clinical Mental Health CounselingOnline$1,158 per creditAll students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-202760$69,480rate × credits
Seattle UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEdOnline$70,110 entire programAll students · 2026-202760$70,110published total
Seattle UniversitySchool Counseling, Online, MAEdOnline$70,110 entire programAll students · 2026-202760$70,110published total
University of Alaska FairbanksClinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)Fully online coursework$1,201 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-202760$72,060rate × credits
University of Alaska FairbanksSchool Counseling (M.Ed.)Fully online coursework$1,201 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-202760$72,060rate × credits
University of DenverOnline Master of Arts in School Counseling (SchoolCounseling@Denver)Fully online coursework$1,120 per creditAll students · 2026-202790$100,800rate × credits
Wake Forest UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health TrackOnline$1,700 per creditOnline students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-202760$102,000rate × credits
Wake Forest UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling TrackOnline$1,700 per creditOnline students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-202760$102,000rate × credits
North Carolina State UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Option)Online$1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-202760$108,246.60rate × credits
North Carolina State UniversityCollege Counseling and Student Development (Online Option)Online$1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-202760$108,246.60rate × credits
North Carolina State UniversitySchool Counseling (Online Option)Online$1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-202760$108,246.60rate × credits

Online programs without a comparable published cost (14)

Questions about cost

What is the cheapest online master's in counseling?
Among the programs we have verified, the table above starts with the lowest estimated total tuition on one comparable basis. Programs we have not yet verified, and fees, can change the picture — always check the current rate and fee schedule on the university's page.
Do online students pay in-state tuition?
It depends on the university. Some charge one online rate to everyone; others charge resident and nonresident rates. Each program page lists every published rate with its category.
Are fees included?
No. Mandatory, technology, online, practicum and liability-insurance fees are listed on each program page when published, and are excluded from the estimate so that programs are compared on tuition alone.
Does a lower price mean a lower-quality program?
Not necessarily, and not the reverse either. Price says nothing about accreditation, fieldwork support or licensure fit. Check each program's CACREP status, licensure disclosure for your state and placement support.
Is financial aid available?
Eligibility for federal aid and scholarships depends on the student and the program. Program pages list scholarships the university publishes; see also our scholarships page.

Related: Counseling tuition and scholarships · Best online counseling programs · All online master's programs