Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Oklahoma logo

University of Oklahoma · Department of Human Relations

Online Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMCMHC CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

A 60-credit online master's program in clinical mental health counseling from the Department of Human Relations, with live evening online classes, two weeklong virtual residencies, and an in-person 100-hour practicum and 600-hour internship.

Official program name
Online Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: ou-public.courseleaf.com · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ou-public.courseleaf.com · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Norman, OKWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: ou-public.courseleaf.com · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as few as 30 monthsA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in clinical mental health counseling (Department of Human Relations).

Source: ou-public.courseleaf.com · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-clock-hour practicum, including 40 direct hours
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-clock-hour internship, including 240 direct hours (300 hours in each of Internship I and II)
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Practicum and internship are completed in person at the student's chosen site.
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum and internship typically require about 20 hours per week at the chosen site; weekly virtual class attendance is mandatory.
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Evaluations from the practicum/internship professor and the onsite clinical supervisor
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Two required weeklong virtual residencies (online, not on campus): the first during the first 18 credit hours, the second during the Practicum/Internship summer semester.
    Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer credit is not accepted.
    Source: ou-public.courseleaf.com · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

  • Passing score on the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Exam (CPCE) or another faculty-approved comprehensive exam
    Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • All courses include required live evening lectures (Central time).
    Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution or international equivalent
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 or graduate GPA of 2.8
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement demonstrating graduate-level writing
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation, one a character reference
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredTwo writing samples
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all institutions attended
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredNonrefundable $350 deposit upon admission, applied to first-semester tuition
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students
Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$845per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$50,700 = 60 credits × $845 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — Program total$50,700entire programIncludes feesSource: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $50,700 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Program total, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: MCMHCAccredited since January 16, 2025 · current cycle ends October 31, 2034 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Oklahoma.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureApproved by the Oklahoma Board of Behavioral Health Licensure; meets educational requirements for LPC licensure in Oklahoma. Licensure requirements vary by state. Official disclosureSource: online.ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaDoes not meetDoes not meet the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckySchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseySchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaDoes not meetDoes not meet the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the requirements for licensureSource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingSchool has not determinedApplicants without CACREP-accredited degrees must submit transcripts and syllabi for board review of content and hours equivalencySource: ou.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.ou.edu/programs/graduate/mental-health-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. ou-public.courseleaf.com/dodge-arts-sciences/human-relations/clinical-mental-health-counseling-maste — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. ou.edu/distanceeducation/licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Oklahoma first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Oklahoma. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.