Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Sacred Heart University campus — Sacred Heart University campus
Sacred Heart University campus. Campus photograph of Sacred Heart University. · Photo: Unknown author Unknown author · Public domain · source
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Fairfield, CTPrivate nonprofit NECHEOfficial website

Sacred Heart University's Farrington College of Education & Human Development offers two 60-credit, low-residency online master's degrees in counseling: an M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and an M.A. in School Counseling. Both combine online coursework with two week-long residencies on the Fairfield, Connecticut campus and fieldwork in the student's setting.

Counseling programs at Sacred Heart University

2 eligible programs verified (2 master's); formats: online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

School Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $800 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: May 24, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since December 1, 1969 · next review 12/31/2033

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • Approval for institutional SARA participation was granted by the State of Connecticut Office of Higher Education on January 11, 2017.
    Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Sacred Heart University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
5151 Park Ave, Fairfield, CT 06825-1000
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
30 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling---ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/school-counseling---ma/certification--disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

Sacred Heart University Counseling Degrees (Master's)