Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Louisiana at Monroe logo

University of Louisiana at Monroe · Counseling Program, College of Health Sciences

Master of Science in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

A 60-credit online MS in Counseling with a clinical mental health track, combining synchronous and asynchronous courses with two three-day virtual residencies. Students arrange a local practicum (100 hours) and internship (600 hours).

Official program name
Master of Science in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Monroe, LAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
TOTAL HOURS 60
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Counseling, clinical mental health counseling track.

Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Minimum of 100 hours in one semester at the practicum site
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Minimum of 600 hours across two semesters at the internship site
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents find a site in their local area that meets handbook requirements
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Site in the student's local area
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Practicum/Internship Coordinator supports students in identifying sites and creates MOUs with sites
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
CMHC students may choose sites such as mental health centers, hospitals, addiction clinics, college counseling centers
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Two virtual residencies, three days each in a synchronous format over Zoom, in the first and second summers
    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • Includes COUN 5065 Practicum and COUN 6070 Internship I and II, plus four electives
    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page letter of interest
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation on official letterhead
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume/vita including GPA
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSelected applicants complete an individual 30-minute Zoom interview
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$95 — Graduate School application fee ($40) and Counseling Program application fee ($55)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAll undergraduate and graduate transcripts
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredIntroductory video of up to two minutes
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    November 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    March 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$550per creditEstimated tuition$33,000 = 60 credits × $550 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,000 (60 credits × $550 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate School application fee
$40Mandatory
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling Program application fee
$55Mandatory
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 11, 2012 · current cycle ends March 31, 2028 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Out-of-state students should check state regulations on earning an online counseling degree Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ulm.edu/counseling/applying.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ulm.edu/counseling/counseling_cmhc_requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ulm.edu/counseling/counseling_cmhc.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ulm.edu/counseling/formatoptions.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ulm.edu/counseling/graduate_assistant.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ulm.edu/counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ulm.edu/counseling/practicum.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. ulm.edu/counseling/state-requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Louisiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Louisiana at Monroe. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.