Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Louisiana at Monroe logo

University of Louisiana at Monroe · Counseling Program, College of Health Sciences

Master of Science in Counseling - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

A 60-credit online MS in Counseling with a school counseling track, with two three-day virtual residencies and a practicum and internship arranged by the student at a local public or private school.

Official program name
Master of Science in Counseling - School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Monroe, LAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
Total Hours 60
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Counseling, school counseling track.

Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Minimum of 100 hours in one semester at the practicum site
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Minimum of 600 hours across two semesters at the internship site
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents find a site in their local area that meets handbook requirements
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Site in the student's local area
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Practicum/Internship Coordinator supports students in identifying sites and creates MOUs with sites
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
School concentration students find a site in a public or private school
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Two virtual residencies, three days each in a synchronous format over Zoom, in the first and second summers
    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • Includes COUN 5058 School Practicum and COUN 6071 School Counseling Internship I and II, plus three electives
    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page letter of interest
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation on official letterhead
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume/vita including GPA
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSelected applicants complete an individual 30-minute Zoom interview
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$95 — Graduate School application fee ($40) and Counseling Program application fee ($55)
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAll undergraduate and graduate transcripts
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredIntroductory video of up to two minutes
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    November 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    March 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$550per creditEstimated tuition$33,000 = 60 credits × $550 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,000 (60 credits × $550 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate School application fee
$40Mandatory
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling Program application fee
$55Mandatory
Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since September 1, 1987 · current cycle ends March 31, 2028 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Out-of-state students should check state regulations on earning an online counseling degree Source: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationSchool Counseling curriculum is recognized by Louisiana as meeting course work requirements for licensure as a School Counselor Official disclosureSource: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School counselor certificationSchool counseling certification table for other states is being created; program refers to ASCA Official disclosureSource: ulm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ulm.edu/counseling/applying.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ulm.edu/counseling/counseling_cmhc_requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ulm.edu/counseling/counseling_school_counseling.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ulm.edu/counseling/formatoptions.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ulm.edu/counseling/graduate_assistant.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ulm.edu/counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ulm.edu/counseling/practicum.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. ulm.edu/counseling/state-requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Louisiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Louisiana at Monroe. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.