Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston · School for Global Inclusion and Social Development

Rehabilitation Counseling MS — Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling track

Awarded degree: Rehabilitation Counseling MS

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

The clinical track of UMass Boston's 60-credit, primarily online Rehabilitation Counseling MS, with a one-week in-person summer session, 100 practicum hours and 600 internship hours supervised by a licensed mental health counselor.

Official program name
Rehabilitation Counseling MS — Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling track
Awarded degree
Rehabilitation Counseling MS
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boston, MAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credits from 19 courses
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Summer, Fall, Spring
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

One Rehabilitation Counseling MS with two tracks (clinical and vocational); recorded as two records.

Why this program is listed

The awarded degree is the MS in Rehabilitation Counseling; this is its clinical rehabilitation counseling track.

Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    One-week summer session in the first year (graduation criteria place it at UMass Dartmouth in late June/early July; the overview describes a one-week residential session in Boston).

    once, first summer

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 total practicum hours.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 total internship hours over two semesters (300 per semester).
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Supervision from a licensed mental health counselor.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesClinical-track students must identify a placement site with integrated clinical mental health/clinical rehabilitation counseling programs.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Portfolio completed in REHAB 611.
    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — 2.75 undergraduate GPA for full matriculation; provisional acceptance possible below 2.75.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredFormal phone interview with the faculty admissions committee.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Nonrefundable $75 application fee.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE or MAT not required.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Feb 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    June 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd)From the university's online tuition table$673per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$40,380 = 60 credits × $673 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 13, 2022 · current cycle ends March 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UMass Boston is approved to participate in NC-SARA. Its programs are designed to meet license requirements in Massachusetts; it cannot confirm whether its professional licensure programs meet requirements outside Massachusetts. Official pageSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureLicensing requirements vary by state; prospective students are urged to research their state's counselor licensing regulations. Official disclosureSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. umb.edu/academics/program-finder/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. umb.edu/academics/sara-compliance-and-dispute-resolution/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. umb.edu/media/umassboston/editor-uploads/bursar/AY2026-2027-Special-Program-Tuition.pdf — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. umb.edu/media/umassboston/editor-uploads/college-of-education-and-human-development/school-for-globa — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2-3 years estimated time to completion
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 22, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Western New Mexico University logo

Western New Mexico University

Master of Counseling - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (CRC)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Silver City, NMSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified
Duration: three-year program · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,151.88 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Boston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.