Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Auburn University campus — Auburn University 's Samford Hall
Auburn University 's Samford Hall. Campus photograph of Auburn University. · Photo: J. Glover ( AUtiger ) · CC BY-SA 2.5 · source
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Auburn, ALPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

Auburn University's Department of Special Education, Rehabilitation, and Counseling offers 60-credit M.Ed. programs in clinical mental health counseling, school counseling and clinical rehabilitation counseling, each with on-campus and distance cohorts, and a 64-credit PhD in Counselor Education. All programs admit for the fall term only.

Counseling programs at Auburn University

7 eligible programs verified (6 master's, 1 doctoral); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – Clinical Mental Health Counseling Option

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $13,578 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $13,578 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – School Counseling Option (Certification)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship requiredPlacement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $13,578 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – Clinical Mental Health Counseling Option

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – School Counseling Option (Certification)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in personPlacement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Doctoral Programs in Counseling

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) - Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy, Counselor Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Auburn, AL
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified
Duration: typically 3-4 years depending on enrollment status, internship workload, and dissertation timeline · 64 credits
Tuition: $13,578 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 6, 1922 · next review 06/01/2029

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Vocational Evaluation Forensic Graduate CertificateGraduate certificate, outside scope.Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Auburn University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
Auburn, AL
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
59 master's, 20 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/admissions.php — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-education.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile