Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Auburn University logo

Auburn University · Department of Special Education, Rehabilitation, and Counseling

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, CACREP-accredited M.Ed. in clinical rehabilitation counseling taught on the Auburn campus, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour supervised internship. Students are required to take the CRC examination.

Official program name
Master of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Education, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Professional purpose not verifiedWe did not find an official statement of the program's professional purpose.
School
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Auburn, AL
Required credits
60-credit hour program
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical rehabilitation counseling.

Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    One-day virtual Residency Training on Zoom at the beginning of the fall semester (and some spring semesters), required of on-campus and distance master's students.

    beginning of fall semester and some spring semesters · Virtual (Zoom)

    Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum taken early in the coursework.
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour supervised clinical internship near the conclusion of the program.
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Sites supervised by a counseling professional with at least two years of post-master's experience and a master's degree in a counseling related field.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
On-campus practicum students typically work with local programs such as the Community Rehabilitation Program and Auburn University offices.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Comprehensive graduation exam, currently the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE).
    Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Students are required to complete the Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC) Examination.
    Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Interest and Cultural Statement.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional/academic references submitted online.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredWriting sample.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review; official transcripts before enrollment.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE scores may be used for some scholarships or fellowships.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International applicants; iBT minimum 79 (IELTS 6.5 also accepted).
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Alabama Resident, tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$13,578per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident (9 hours), tuition/fees, 2026-2027 fall and spring semesters (cost of attendance estimate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$37,554per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since July 19, 2017 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureProgram meets educational and testing requirements for national CRC certification; some states require additional education for state professional counselor licensure (PDF). Official disclosureSource: auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. auburn.edu/administration/finaid/cost/estimates.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. bulletin.auburn.edu/thegraduateschool/graduatedegreesoffered/specialeducationrehabilitationandcounse — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/admissions.php — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/ced-masters-program-field-experience-handbo — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/ced-masters-program-handbook_2026_8.28.26_a — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-education.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. auburn.edu/academic/provost/resources/student/professional-licensure/_assets/pdfs/College%20of%20Edu — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health/Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (ME6324)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time)
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

University of Iowa

MA in Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education (Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling subprogram)

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Iowa City, IA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship requiredPlacement support stated
Duration: approximately 20 months (four semesters) (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Auburn University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.