Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University · Department of Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed

Overview

A 60-unit M.S. in rehabilitation counseling taught on campus with evening classes Monday through Thursday, admitting every fall; an optional clinical rehabilitation counseling concentration meets California LPCC education requirements and requires 100 practicum and 600 internship hours.

Official program name
M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)
Awarded degree
Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Diego, CA
Required credits
60 units
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
typically two and a half to three years
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same degree also offered as a distance option (CDER, separate record). The Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling concentration is not available to distance students.

Why this program is listed

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling, on-campus option (optional Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling concentration).

Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Clinical concentration: minimum 100 hours of practicum
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Clinical concentration: minimum 600 hours of internship
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Concentration students mentored at a faculty-to-student ratio of no more than 1:12
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume / CV
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSome applicants invited to interview with program faculty, typically February through May
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$4,274per semesterSource: bursar.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of state / foreign tuition, per unit, Fall 2026 (in addition to basic tuition)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per creditEstimated tuition$28,260 = 60 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bursar.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of state / foreign tuition, per unit, Fall 2026 (in addition to basic tuition), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureClinical concentration meets education requirements for California LPCC; graduates register as APCC and complete supervised hours and exams. Official disclosureSource: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureCSU programs for licensed professions are intended to prepare students to meet California requirements; the CSU has not determined whether its programs meet other states' requirements. Official disclosureSource: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bursar.sdsu.edu/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/campus — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – Rehabilitation Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in rehabilitation and mental health counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Pennsylvania State University logo

Pennsylvania State University

Counselor Education M.Ed. - Clinical Mental Health and Rehabilitation Counseling in Schools and Communities emphasis

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: University Park, PA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: two years of full-time graduate study, or its equivalent (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,104 per credit · Resident (in-state) — University Park, Graduate, All Other Programs, Pennsylvania residents, part-time per credit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $121,680 (60 credits × $2,028 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of North Texas logo

University of North Texas

Rehabilitation Counseling (MS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Denton, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Est. time to complete: 2.5 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $50 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Statutory Tuition for Texas Residents (component; graduate students also pay Board Designated and Board Authorized tuition) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $28,680 (60 credits × $478 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with San Diego State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.