Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of North Texas logo

University of North Texas · Department of Rehabilitation and Health Services

Rehabilitation Counseling (MS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit-hour M.S. in rehabilitation counseling offered on campus in Denton, with a 100-hour practicum completed at the UNTWELL clinic, a 600-hour internship and a comprehensive examination; fall and spring admission.

Official program name
Rehabilitation Counseling (MS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Denton, TX
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Est. time to complete: 2.5 years
Source: unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered fully online (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Master of Science in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus format).

Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum
Source: unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship
Source: unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
On-campus students complete practicum at the UNTWELL clinic (handbook 2025/2026)
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Comprehensive examination (departmental exam or national certification exam option)
    Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Applicants typically have 3.0 on the last 60 undergraduate hours or 3.4 on a completed master's; lower GPAs may be considered
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredSelf-statement (two to three pages)
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two references: one employer, one previous instructor
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredQualified applicants contacted for an admissions interview
Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    October 20, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Passed
  • Application deadline

    March 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: pahs.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Statutory Tuition for Texas Residents (component; graduate students also pay Board Designated and Board Authorized tuition)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$50per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$3,000 = 60 credits × $50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounting.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Statutory Tuition for Non-Residents, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 (component)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$478per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$28,680 = 60 credits × $478 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounting.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Board Designated Tuition for Graduate students (component, all graduate students)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$227.79per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$13,667.40 = 60 credits × $227.79 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounting.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Board Authorized Tuition (component, all graduate students)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$50per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$3,000 = 60 credits × $50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounting.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Board Designated Graduate Tuition (component, all graduate students)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$25per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$1,500 = 60 credits × $25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounting.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,680 (60 credits × $478 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Statutory Tuition for Non-Residents, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 (component), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 1, 2017 · current cycle ends March 31, 2033 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)Determination made that successful completion of the program leads to licensure/certification in this stateSource: accreditation.unt.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. accreditation.unt.edu/license-disclosure.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. pahs.unt.edu/academics/rehab-counseling-ms.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. pahs.unt.edu/images/-departments/rhs/rcms-grad-handbook-25-26.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. studentaccounting.unt.edu/tuition-and-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  8. unt.edu/academics/programs/rehabilitation-counseling-masters — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – Rehabilitation Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in rehabilitation and mental health counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Pennsylvania State University logo

Pennsylvania State University

Counselor Education M.Ed. - Clinical Mental Health and Rehabilitation Counseling in Schools and Communities emphasis

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: University Park, PA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: two years of full-time graduate study, or its equivalent (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,104 per credit · Resident (in-state) — University Park, Graduate, All Other Programs, Pennsylvania residents, part-time per credit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $121,680 (60 credits × $2,028 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of North Texas. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.