Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
San Diego State University campus — Historic Mission Revival and Spanish Colonial Revival style architecture on the San Diego State University campus. On th
Historic Mission Revival and Spanish Colonial Revival style architecture on the San Diego State University campus. On the National Register of Historic Places in San Diego County, California . (the bell tower behind the building has been taken out of the photo). Campus photograph of San Diego State University. · Photo: Wikipedia User:Geographer · CC BY 1.0 · source
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

San Diego, CAPublic WSCUCOfficial website

San Diego State University's College of Education offers an M.S. in Counseling with a school counseling specialization and PPS credential and the Community-Based Block multicultural community counseling M.S. (Department of Counseling and School Psychology), an M.S. in Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling (Child and Family Development), and an M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling with on-campus and distance options (Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education).

Counseling programs at San Diego State University

5 eligible programs verified (5 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

Community-Based Block Multicultural Community Counseling & Social Justice Education (CBB)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Community-Based Block Multicultural Community Counseling and Social Justice Education

Multicultural Community Counseling & Social Justice Education · Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes
Duration: two-year cohort program
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not stated
Next deadline: December 1, 2027 · Fall 2028
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum required280 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: 2 full years, including summer courses (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Summer/Fall 2027
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Counseling with a specialization in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: Format not verifiedFull-time
Practical training: Format not verified
Duration: two full years of full-time study, including summer coursework (full-time)
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not stated
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework
Location: San Diego, CASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since February 28, 1949 · next review 06/27/2036

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Marriage and Family Therapy (M.S.)Standalone MFT, outside core directory.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • M.A. in Education with Counseling Concentration (Online-Hybrid) (Master of Arts (M.A.) in Education)Counseling concentration inside a generic Education degree; no licensure purpose stated.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School Psychology (Ed.S.)School psychology / specialist degree.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Restorative Justice Practice and Trauma-Informed Care certificate; Online Spanglish Decolonial Healing certificateCertificates.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Psychiatric Rehabilitation / Co-occurring Disorders / Cognitive Disabilities / Rehabilitation Technology certificatesCertificates.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Counseling & Social Change minorMinor.Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
San Diego State University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
5500 Campanile Dr, San Diego, CA 92182-0001
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
82 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. education.sdsu.edu/departments/arpe — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.sdsu.edu/departments/csp — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.sdsu.edu/departments/csp/programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/counseling-ma — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/early-childhood-family-clinical-counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/marriage-family-therapy-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/school-counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  10. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  11. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile