Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University · Department of Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework

Overview

The 60-unit rehabilitation counseling M.S. offered at a distance (CDER) for students living outside San Diego County, with no required travel to San Diego; the course plan includes practicum and internship courses. Admission typically every three years, next expected start fall 2027.

Official program name
M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)
Awarded degree
Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Professional purpose not verifiedWe did not find an official statement of the program's professional purpose.
School
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
San Diego, CAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 units
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
typically two and a half to three years
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling concentration not available to distance students.

Why this program is listed

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling, distance option with its own admission cycle and eligibility rules.

Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredARP 744 practicum courses (beginning, intermediate, advanced) in the course plan
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredARP 745 Internship in Rehabilitation in the course plan
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume / CV
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSome applicants invited to interview with program faculty, typically February through May
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredMust reside outside San Diego County
Source: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside California.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureCSU programs for licensed professions are intended to prepare students to meet California requirements; the CSU has not determined whether its programs meet other states' requirements. Official disclosureSource: education.sdsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/distance — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.sdsu.edu/graduate/rehabilitation-counseling-ms/licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,150 (60 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Rehabilitation Counseling MS — Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling track

Awarded degree: Rehabilitation Counseling MS

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · All students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with San Diego State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.