Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University · Department of Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational Psychology, and Foundations

Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-hour online M.S. in Counselor Education with a rehabilitation counseling concentration delivered asynchronously through MSU Online, with in-state tuition for all students. Students complete a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship at approved sites.

Official program name
Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mississippi State, MSWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 Hours
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Students are admitted into a cohort that follows a pre-determined course sequence each semester.

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counselor education, rehabilitation counseling concentration, offered online.

Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    New Student Orientation in August before the fall semester; all new students are required to attend (place announced beforehand).

    once

    Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum: eight hours per week at one or two community agencies, 100 hours over a fall or spring semester.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship: minimum 600 hours of professionally supervised activity over a fall or spring 16-week semester.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherPracticums and internships must be pursued and applied for by each student with the assistance of the Program Coordinator.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Advisor approves the practicum/internship site and determines appropriate on-site supervisors.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
University-based and community practicum and internship training sites.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Other

  • Students are admitted into a cohort that follows a pre-determined course sequence.
    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.00 on the last 60 hours of undergraduate work.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 non-refundable application processing fee for domestic students ($80 international).
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredIdentity verification through Stripe Identity.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredTOEFL or IELTS required for international students.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GRE General Test
OptionalScores may be submitted but are not required.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1 (considered until total enrollment is attained)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students)$602.50per creditEstimated tuition$36,150 = 60 credits × $602.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $36,150 (60 credits × $602.50 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Instructional Support Fee per credit hour
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 1, 2017 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • SARA approval does not extend to programs that lead to professional licensure; students outside Mississippi should contact their state licensing board before applying. Official pageSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MSU participates in SARA (approved July 27, 2016); SARA approval does not extend to programs that lead to professional licensure. Official pageSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureGraduates meet the educational qualifications for CRC certification and immediate eligibility for LPC licensure in Mississippi; graduates register and complete supervision hours and exams after graduation. Official disclosureSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.msstate.edu/graduate/colleges-degree-programs/education/counseling-education-psychology/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. chef.msstate.edu/programs/grad/rehab — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. chef.msstate.edu/sites/www.cep.msstate.edu/files/inline-files/Word%20-%20COE%20Graduate%20Student%20 — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.msstate.edu/msrc — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.msstate.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Mississippi first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework
Location: San Diego, CASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Rehabilitation Counseling MS — Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling track

Awarded degree: Rehabilitation Counseling MS

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · All students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Mississippi State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.