Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University · Department of Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational Psychology, and Foundations

School Counseling (M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with School Counseling Concentration

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit-hour M.S. in Counselor Education with a school counseling concentration on the Starkville campus, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship in an accredited pre-K-12 setting under a licensed professional school counselor.

Official program name
School Counseling (M.S.)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counselor Education with School Counseling Concentration
Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mississippi State, MS
Required credits
60 Graduate Credit Hours Required
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counselor education, school counseling concentration.

Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    New Student Orientation in August before the fall semester; all new students are required to attend (place announced beforehand).

    once

    Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. COE 8053 Practicum, 100 hours.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. COE 8730 Internship, 600 hours.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
Students without a standard educator license complete a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship (300 hours in fall, 300 in spring).
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Internship in an accredited pre-K-12 environment under supervision of a licensed professional school counselor.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Faculty work with students to help ensure beneficial placement settings.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Praxis tests are not required by the program for completion of the master's degree.
    Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a fully accredited four-year institution.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.00 (4.00 scale).
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalScores may be submitted but are not required.
Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident, total tuition and required fees per credit hour (1-8 hours), StarkvilleFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$616.40per credit · Fall 2026 or Spring Includes feesEstimated tuition$36,984 = 60 credits × $616.40 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: controller.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident, total per credit hour (1-8 hours), StarkvilleFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,671.65per credit · Fall 2026 or Spring Includes feesEstimated tuition$100,299 = 60 credits × $1,671.65 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: controller.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident, per semester (9 or more hours), StarkvilleFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,547.50per semester · Fall 2026 or Spring Includes feesSource: controller.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident, per semester (9 or more hours), StarkvilleFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$15,043per semester · Fall 2026 or Spring Includes feesSource: controller.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $100,299 (60 credits × $1,671.65 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Non-Resident, total per credit hour (1-8 hours), Starkville, Fall 2026 or Spring . Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since March 1, 1985 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • MSU participates in SARA (approved July 27, 2016); SARA approval does not extend to programs that lead to professional licensure. Official pageSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationGraduates of the master's program are eligible for licensure as a school counselor in Mississippi. Official disclosureSource: chef.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School counselor certificationThe school counseling concentration prepares graduates for licensure as a Professional School Counselor through the Mississippi Department of Education. Official disclosureSource: catalog.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.msstate.edu/graduate/colleges-degree-programs/education/counseling-education-psychology/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. chef.msstate.edu/programs/grad/school — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. chef.msstate.edu/sites/www.cep.msstate.edu/files/inline-files/Word%20-%20COE%20Graduate%20Student%20 — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. controller.msstate.edu/accountservices/tuition/starkville-campus — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.msstate.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Mississippi first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Mississippi State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.