Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Minnesota State University, Mankato campus — This is a picture of the historical Old Main Hall and the Annex of the Minnesota State University, Mankato Wilson Campus
This is a picture of the historical Old Main Hall and the Annex of the Minnesota State University, Mankato Wilson Campus that is located in Downtown Mankato. It is on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.. Campus photograph of Minnesota State University, Mankato. · Photo: Randomeditor1000 · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Mankato, MNPublic HLCOfficial website

Minnesota State University, Mankato's Department of Counseling and Student Personnel offers a 60-credit MS in Counseling and Student Personnel with mental health counseling and K-12 professional school counseling emphases, delivered primarily in person in Mankato; its Ed.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision is no longer accepting applications.

Counseling programs at Minnesota State University, Mankato

2 eligible programs verified (2 master's); formats: on campus. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Mental Health Counseling emphasis

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1940 · next review 08/31/2036

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Doctor of Education in Counselor Education and Supervision (Ed.D.)Not accepting applications.Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • College Student Affairs MS (Master of Science)Student affairs administration degree, not a counselor preparation degree.Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • College Student Affairs graduate certificateCertificate.Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
South Rd and Ellis Ave, Mankato, MN 56001
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
29 bachelor's, 31 master's, 1 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. ed.mnsu.edu/academic-programs/counseling-student-personnel/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ed.mnsu.edu/academic-programs/counseling-student-personnel/doctor-of-education-in-counselor-educatio — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. mnsu.edu/programs/counseling-and-student-personnel/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. mnsu.edu/programs/counseling-and-student-personnel/college-student-affairs-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile