Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato · Department of Counseling and Student Personnel, College of Education

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit MS in Counseling and Student Personnel with a K-12 professional school counseling emphasis, delivered primarily in person in Mankato, with a 100-hour practicum, a 600-hour internship and the CPCE; admission is for a summer start.

Official program name
Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mankato, MN
Required credits
60 credits
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer))
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling with a professional school counseling (K-12) emphasis.

Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship as capstone experience
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
At least nine months of extensive practice and supervision for practicum and internship
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Internship field experiences in PK-12 settings
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Exam (CPCE) as summative evaluation
    Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited university
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 2.75 — Undergraduate cumulative GPA of 2.75 or above most competitive
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Psychology prerequisites
RequiredAbnormal Psychology or equivalent, completed before or during the first year
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement answering prompt questions
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation, one from an instructor or academic advisor
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all previous college coursework
Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80International applicants; TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 110 accepted
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 6.5International applicants (alternative to TOEFL/Duolingo)
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Optional — minimum 110International applicants; minimum speaking and writing scores of 105
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$570per creditEstimated tuition$34,200 = 60 credits × $570 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, Non-MN ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$826per creditEstimated tuition$49,560 = 60 credits × $826 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, Non-MN Resident, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student fees (1-12 credits)
$48.39 per creditMandatory
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since March 1, 1985 · current cycle ends October 31, 2033Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationPrepares students for Minnesota state licensure as a K-12 professional school counselor Source: ed.mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureProgram prepares students for professional licensure/certification; licensure requirements vary by state Official disclosureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetThe requirements of this program do not meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetThe requirements of this program do not meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetThe requirements of this program do not meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetThe requirements of this program do not meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetThe requirements of this program do not meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)The requirements of this program meet Certification/LicensureSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Minnesota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Missouri–St. Louis logo

University of Missouri–St. Louis

Counseling MEd, School Counseling Emphasis

Awarded degree: Master of Education (MEd) in Counseling, School Counseling emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $751 per credit · Resident (in-state) — 2026-27 Graduate Tuition, College of Education (MEd, EdS, PhD), Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $102,720 (60 credits × $1,712 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Minnesota State University, Mankato. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.