Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Missouri–St. Louis logo

University of Missouri–St. Louis · Department of Education Sciences and Professional Programs, College of Education

Counseling MEd, School Counseling Emphasis

Awarded degree: Master of Education (MEd) in Counseling, School Counseling emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, on-campus MEd in Counseling with a school counseling emphasis approved by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, including a 100-clock-hour practicum, a school counseling internship and a comprehensive examination.

Official program name
Counseling MEd, School Counseling Emphasis
Awarded degree
Master of Education (MEd) in Counseling, School Counseling emphasis
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Required credits
60-credit hour program
Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling with a school counseling emphasis.

Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. CNS ED 6270 School Counseling Practicum: 100 clock hours of supervised practice
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCNS ED 6280 School Counseling Internship; 100 clock-hours of internship per semester credit hour
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Other

  • Students without a teaching certificate must complete specific electives for certification
    Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two completed references on file
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredProgram supplemental application
Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — 2026-27 Graduate Tuition, College of Education (MEd, EdS, PhD), ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$751per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$45,060 = 60 credits × $751 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — 2026-27 Graduate Tuition, College of Education (MEd, EdS, PhD), Non-ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,712per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$102,720 = 60 credits × $1,712 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
2026-27 Graduate Tuition, College of Education (MEd, EdS, PhD), Midwest Student ExchangeFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,127per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$67,620 = 60 credits × $1,127 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $102,720 (60 credits × $1,712 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — 2026-27 Graduate Tuition, College of Education (MEd, EdS, PhD), Non-Resident, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since September 1, 1999 · current cycle ends October 31, 2033Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Non-Missouri residents must review the state authorizations page Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationLeads to Missouri certification; approved by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Source: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureProfessional licensure disclosure page lists School Counseling MEd - School Counselor, K-12 Official disclosureSource: umsl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.umsl.edu/programs/counseling-med-clinical-mental-health-emphasis/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. bulletin.umsl.edu/programs/counseling-med-school-counseling-emphasis/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. bulletin.umsl.edu/search/?P=CNS%20ED%206270 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. bulletin.umsl.edu/search/?P=CNS%20ED%206280 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. umsl.edu/degrees/masters/med-school-counseling.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. umsl.edu/oiec/regulations/professional-licensure-disclosures.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. umsl.edu/sfs/tuition-fees/index.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Missouri first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Missouri–St. Louis. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.