Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky · Department of Early Childhood, Special Education, & Counselor Education

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed

Overview

The Rehabilitation Counseling specialty of UK's fully online, 60-credit MAC in Counselor Education, with a 200-hour practicum and 600-hour internship at an approved site in the student's area and required in-person synchronous skills experiences beginning July 1, 2026.

Official program name
Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling
Awarded degree
Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Professional purpose not verifiedWe did not find an official statement of the program's professional purpose.
School
Source: education.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Lexington, KYWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load)
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Fall
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The online MAC offers two specialties (Clinical Mental Health Counseling and Rehabilitation Counseling) under one program page; no separate campus version found.

Why this program is listed

Rehabilitation Counseling specialty of the online master's in Counselor Education.

Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Other campus requirement Required

    In-person, synchronous experiences to observe and assess counseling skills and dispositions throughout the program; one occurs before CED 710 (Practicum). Location not stated.

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required200 hours. Practicum (3 credit hours): supervised practicum of 200 hours.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship (9 credit hours): supervised internship of 600 hours.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Fieldwork and practicum at an approved site in the student's geographic area; some students secure 100% online practicums and internships.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Overall GPA of 2.75 on undergraduate work and 3.00 on graduate work, if applicable.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement on interest in and goals for the degree program.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three references.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/resume.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 1, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$806per creditEstimated tuition$48,360 = 60 credits × $806 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • The University of Kentucky is a participating institution of State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state. Official pageSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. education.uky.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education-research-and-policy-phd — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.uky.edu/masters/counselor-education/mac — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Kentucky first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework
Location: San Diego, CASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,150 (60 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Rehabilitation Counseling MS — Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling track

Awarded degree: Rehabilitation Counseling MS

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · All students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Kentucky. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.