Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Kentucky campus — Main Building, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, USA.
Main Building, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, USA.. Campus photograph of University of Kentucky. · Photo: Daderot · CC0 · source
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KYPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

The University of Kentucky's Department of Early Childhood, Special Education, and Counselor Education offers a fully online 60-credit master's (MAC) in Counselor Education with Clinical Mental Health Counseling and Rehabilitation Counseling specialties, and an on-campus PhD with a formal option in Counselor Education and Supervision. The Department of Educational, School, and Counseling Psychology offers an in-person MS and an APA-accredited PhD in Counseling Psychology.

Counseling programs at University of Kentucky

5 eligible programs verified (3 master's, 2 doctoral); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Counseling Psychology (M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Counseling Psychology

Counseling Psychology (related field)

Master'sMSCounseling psychologyCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum required600 practicum hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Approximately 24 months across six consecutive semesters, including two summer semesters · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Doctoral Programs in Counseling

University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Early Childhood, Special Education, and Counselor Education and Supervision (Ph.D.) — Option in Counselor Education, Research, and Policy

Awarded degree: Ph.D. in Early Childhood, Special Education, and Rehabilitation Counseling with a formal option in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Lexington, KY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes
Duration: Length not published · 74 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Counseling Psychology (Ph.D.)

Awarded degree: PhD in Counseling Psychology

Counseling Psychology (related field)

PhDCounseling psychologyCACREP: not listedFunding not verified
Location: Lexington, KY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required
Duration: five years for most post-master's students; seven years for most pre-master's students (entry with or without an applied mental health master's degree) · 95 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1915 · next review 06/01/2029

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “The University of Kentucky is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).” Source: uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • The University of Kentucky is a participating institution of State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state.
    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Applied Behavior Analysis (MS)Applied behavior analysis, outside scope.Source: education.uky.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Kentucky
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
South Limestone, Lexington, KY 40506-0032
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
31 master's, 5 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. education.uky.edu/academics/departments/edsce — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.uky.edu/academics/graduate/counseling-psychology-phd — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.uky.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education-research-and-policy-phd — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.uky.edu/masters/counselor-education/mac — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  9. uky.edu/accreditation/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile