Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Auburn University logo

Auburn University · Department of Special Education, Rehabilitation, and Counseling

Master of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Education, Counselor Education – School Counseling Option (Certification)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

The distance-education cohort of the 60-credit M.Ed. school counseling (Class A certification) program, with online courses and a required one-day virtual residency. Practicum and internship placements in schools are approved through the College of Education field experiences process.

Official program name
Master of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance)
Awarded degree
Master of Education, Counselor Education – School Counseling Option (Certification)
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Auburn, ALWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60-credit hour program
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling (Class A certification program).

Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    One-day virtual Residency Training on Zoom at the beginning of the fall semester (and some spring semesters), required of on-campus and distance master's students.

    beginning of fall semester and some spring semesters · Virtual (Zoom)

    Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCOUN 7910 Practicum (3 credit hours).
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCOUN 7920 Internship (9 credit hours).
Source: bulletin.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherStudents select preferred sites; the program coordinator and the College of Education Field Experiences Coordinator submit placement forms to districts for approval.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
All coursework and field experiences (practicum and internships) must be completed in the United States, including for online students.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Minimum 2.75 on awarded degree.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Interest and Cultural Statement.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional/academic references submitted online.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredAlabama fingerprint and background check.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review; official transcripts before enrollment.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE scores may be used for some scholarships or fellowships.
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International applicants; iBT minimum 79 (IELTS 6.5 also accepted).
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$630per creditEstimated tuition$37,800 = 60 credits × $630 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online/distance students are charged online course fees instead of tuition
Amount not stated per creditMandatory
Source: education.auburn.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since March 1, 1985 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Alabama.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. bulletin.auburn.edu/thegraduateschool/graduatedegreesoffered/specialeducationrehabilitationandcounse — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. bulletin.auburn.edu/undergraduate/collegeofeducation/specialeducationrehabilitationandcounseling/cou — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.auburn.edu/about/online-tuition-fees/index.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/admissions.php — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/ced-masters-program-field-experience-handbo — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-ed-info/ced-masters-program-handbook_2026_8.28.26_a — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. education.auburn.edu/academic-programs/counselor-education.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  9. auburn.edu/academic/provost/resources/student/professional-licensure/_assets/pdfs/College%20of%20Edu — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Auburn University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.