Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of Iowa · Department of Counselor Education

MA in Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education (Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling subprogram)

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed

Overview

A 60-semester-hour, in-person MA subprogram in clinical rehabilitation counseling focused on counseling people with disabilities. Students take one semester of practicum and one of internship alongside coursework and finish with a full-time spring internship.

Official program name
MA in Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counselor Education (Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling subprogram)
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Iowa City, IA
Required credits
minimum of 60 s.h. of graduate credit
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
approximately 20 months (four semesters) (full-time)
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counselor education, clinical rehabilitation counseling subprogram.

Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredOne semester of practicum (CSED:6346, 3 s.h.)
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredFull-time internship (40 hours per week) during a spring semester; CSED:6347, 12 s.h.
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
The program places students at sitesStudents are placed for practicum and internship in settings such as state agencies and community mental health practices
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Fieldwork in sites that meet CACREP accreditation standards
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university, or equivalent
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.00 or better on a four-point scale
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview with the faculty (in person or by telephone)
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    March 15; applications reviewed as received until the cohort is filled

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)Y (yes, meets educational requirements)Source: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckySchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseySchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/education/counselor-education/counselor-education-ma/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/education/counselor-education/counselor-education-phd/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.uiowa.edu/rehabilitation-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. provost.uiowa.edu/professional-licensure-disclosures-program — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Iowa first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health/Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (ME6324)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time)
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Master of Arts in Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Arts (M.A.) in Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Tucson, AZ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: a minimum of two years of full-time study, including summer coursework (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $15,700 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — 2026-2027 Cost of Attendance, Graduate, Main Campus: Tuition & Fees (Arizona resident, estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Iowa. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.