Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · Department of Disability and Psychoeducational Studies

Master of Arts in Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Arts (M.A.) in Counseling

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, in-person M.A. in Counseling specialization at the Tucson main campus that adds disability and rehabilitation coursework, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship.

Official program name
Master of Arts in Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Specialization
Awarded degree
Master of Arts (M.A.) in Counseling
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZ
Required credits
minimum of 60 credits
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
a minimum of two years of full-time study, including summer coursework (full-time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling, clinical rehabilitation counseling specialization.

Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum of at least 100 hours (40 direct, 60 indirect), 3 credits
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Practicum
RequiredSERP 594 Practicum - Rehabilitation Specialty (3 credits)
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship over two consecutive semesters (Spring and Summer), 12 credits and 600 hours (240 direct, 360 indirect)
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement assistance
Field Placement Coordinator communicates placement deadlines
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Same core courses as the Clinical Mental Health specialization plus courses in disability, habilitation and rehabilitation
    Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Bachelor's degree with a minimum GPA 3.0
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 letters of recommendation
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadlineDomestic applicants

    January 15

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadlineInternational applicants

    December 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — 2026-2027 Cost of Attendance, Graduate, Main Campus: Tuition & Fees (Arizona resident, estimate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$15,700per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: financialaid.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — 2026-2027 Cost of Attendance, Graduate, Main Campus: Tuition & Fees (non-resident, estimate)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$36,000per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: financialaid.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Experiential Learning Cloud (Tevera) mandatory purchase
$245 entire programMandatory
Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 11, 2022 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensurePrepares graduates for meeting LAC and LPC requirements in Arizona and other states; CRC certification Source: education.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. education.arizona.edu/clinical-rehabilitation-counseling-specialization — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.arizona.edu/counseling/master-arts-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.arizona.edu/majors/counseling-ma — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.arizona.edu/sites/default/files/2025-08/2025-26-Clinical-Practice-Guidelines-PASS.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.arizona.edu/sites/default/files/2025-08/2025-26-Student-Handbook-PASS.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. financialaid.arizona.edu/cost/graduate-professional — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health/Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (ME6324)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time)
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

University of Iowa

MA in Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education (Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling subprogram)

Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Iowa City, IA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship requiredPlacement support stated
Duration: approximately 20 months (four semesters) (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.