Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of Iowa · Department of Counselor Education

MA in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education (School Counseling subprogram)

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-semester-hour, in-person, cohort-based MA subprogram in school counseling with evening classes. Students complete at least 100 practicum hours and 600 internship hours in approved K-12 school placements arranged by the program.

Official program name
MA in School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counselor Education (School Counseling subprogram)
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Iowa City, IA
Required credits
minimum of 60 s.h. of graduate credit
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
can be completed in two years
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Fall
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counselor education, school counseling subprogram.

Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. At least 100 clock hours of practicum
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 clock hours of internship in an approved school setting
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Supervision by an experienced licensed school counselor and a university faculty supervisor
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
The program places students at sitesStudents are placed in vetted and arranged K-12 school sites
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Background check the semester before practicum; non-teachers complete education coursework before practicum
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university, or equivalent
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.00 or better on a four-point scale
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedOne year of teaching experience or other successful experiences with children and/or adolescents preferred
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose including experiences working with children and/or adolescents
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurriculum vita
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with faculty
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Not verifiedMay be required for some non-native speakers of English.
Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1 · for Summer/Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since September 1, 1987 · current cycle ends October 31, 2028Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)Y (yes, meets educational requirements)Source: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckySchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseySchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingSchool has not determinedUnder reviewSource: provost.uiowa.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/education/counselor-education/counselor-education-ma/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/education/counselor-education/counselor-education-phd/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.uiowa.edu/areas-study/counseling-and-mental-health/school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. provost.uiowa.edu/professional-licensure-disclosures-program — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Iowa first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Iowa. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.