Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston · Department of Counseling, School Psychology & Sport

Mental Health Counseling MS (online)

Awarded degree: Mental Health Counseling MS

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed

Overview

The online format of UMass Boston's 60-credit, MPCAC-accredited Mental Health Counseling MS, which begins with a two-week in-person study at or near campus and includes a 100-hour practicum and supervised field placements.

Official program name
Mental Health Counseling MS (online)
Awarded degree
Mental Health Counseling MS
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boston, MAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credits from 18 courses
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Summer
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The same program page lists a fall on-campus intake with separate deadlines and campus tuition; recorded separately as ms-mental-health-counseling.

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in mental health counseling (online format).

Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Intensive Required

    Two-week in-person study at or near the UMass Boston campus at the start of the program (two courses, 6 credits).

    once, at program start · at or near the UMass Boston campus, Boston, MA

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 hours of practicum, including at least 40 hours of direct service with clients.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredField work courses COUNSL 699 Advanced Practice I and II (6 credits each); hours not stated on the program page.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Fieldwork hours completed through an approved field placement under appropriate supervision.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Completion of a clinical case study.
    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • Optional adjustment counseling concentration (one additional course and additional internship hours) for Massachusetts school adjustment counselor licensure eligibility.
    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Work experience
RecommendedOne year of experience in the field preferred.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose (about 300 words part 1; up to 1,200 words part 2).
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation, at least one from a person who knows the applicant's academic work.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredUpdated résumé.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
OptionalWriting sample optional.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Nonrefundable $75 application fee; waived for veterans, McNair scholars and UMass Boston alumni.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all universities attended.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 2 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Mental Health Counseling -MS (Online track)From the university's online tuition table$673per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$40,380 = 60 credits × $673 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Mental Health Counseling -MS (Online track), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Masters in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council (MPCAC)Status: AccreditedSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UMass Boston is approved to participate in NC-SARA. Its programs are designed to meet license requirements in Massachusetts; it cannot confirm whether its professional licensure programs meet requirements outside Massachusetts. Official pageSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensurePrepares for LMHC licensure in Massachusetts; licensure requirements vary by state and applicants should check with an admissions counselor whether the program meets requirements in their state. Official disclosureSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureUMass Boston cannot confirm whether its professional licensure programs meet requirements outside Massachusetts. Official disclosureSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. umb.edu/academics/program-finder/mental-health-counseling-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. umb.edu/academics/sara-compliance-and-dispute-resolution/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. umb.edu/education/academic-departments/counseling-school-psychology-sport/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. umb.edu/media/umassboston/editor-uploads/bursar/AY2026-2027-Special-Program-Tuition.pdf — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Boston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.