Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston · Department of Counseling, School Psychology & Sport

Mental Health Counseling MS (on-campus)

Awarded degree: Mental Health Counseling MS

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed

Overview

The on-campus format of UMass Boston's 60-credit, MPCAC-accredited Mental Health Counseling MS with a fall intake, a 100-hour practicum and two field work courses.

Official program name
Mental Health Counseling MS (on-campus)
Awarded degree
Mental Health Counseling MS
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boston, MA
Required credits
60 credits from 18 courses
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The program page describes the online format in detail; campus-specific schedule details are not printed.

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in mental health counseling (on-campus fall intake).

Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 hours of practicum, including at least 40 hours of direct service with clients.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredField work courses COUNSL 699 Advanced Practice I and II (6 credits each); hours not stated on the program page.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Completion of a clinical case study.
    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — Nonrefundable $75 application fee.
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    February 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate (In-State), per credit, Fall 2026From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$877.50per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$52,650 = 60 credits × $877.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate (Out-of-State / International), per credit, Fall 2026From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,704.50per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$102,270 = 60 credits × $1,704.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $102,270 (60 credits × $1,704.50 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate (Out-of-State / International), per credit, Fall 2026, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology fee (graduate, per credit, Fall 2026)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Masters in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council (MPCAC)Status: AccreditedSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UMass Boston is approved to participate in NC-SARA. Its programs are designed to meet license requirements in Massachusetts; it cannot confirm whether its professional licensure programs meet requirements outside Massachusetts. Official pageSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureUMass Boston programs are designed to meet license requirements in Massachusetts; out-of-state students should contact their state licensing board. Official disclosureSource: umb.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. umb.edu/academics/program-finder/mental-health-counseling-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. umb.edu/academics/sara-compliance-and-dispute-resolution/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. umb.edu/education/academic-departments/counseling-school-psychology-sport/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. umb.edu/media/umassboston/editor-uploads/bursar/Fall-2026-Graduate-Part-time-Tuition-and-Fees.pdf — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

William & Mary

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Two years full-time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $606 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State Resident, per credit hour (part-time students and summer) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $97,860 (60 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MS
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Full-time students complete the program in two years, including summers (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $616.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident, total tuition and required fees per credit hour (1-8 hours), Starkville · Fall 2026 or Spring Est. total tuition $100,299 (60 credits × $1,671.65 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Bradley University logo

Bradley University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (MA)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Peoria, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,158 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Boston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.