Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of the Cumberlands · Department of Counseling

Online Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online M.A. (48 core and 12 specialization hours) with a counseling practicum, two internship courses and the CPCE comprehensive exam, at $449 per credit hour. Up to 18 semester hours may be transferred.

Official program name
Online Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Williamsburg, KYWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 hours of graduate-level work
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in clinical mental health counseling.

Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCOUN 645 Counseling Practicum.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCOUN 646 Counseling Internship and COUN 647 Counseling Internship II.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Students must pass the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE), taken online and proctored via CCE, to graduate.
    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • 48 hours of counseling core courses and 12 hours of clinical mental health counseling specialization courses.
    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • A maximum of 18 semester hours may be transferred from a regionally accredited institution.
    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredConferred bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited school.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 for the bachelor's degree for full acceptance.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two recommendations from professional sources.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalInterview by the admissions committee if determined necessary.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
Required1000-1500-word writing sample on a provided prompt.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — Application fee for admissions: $30.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$449per creditEstimated tuition$26,940 = 60 credits × $449 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $26,940 (60 credits × $449 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 14, 2014 · current cycle ends March 31, 2033 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Approved SARA institution; students are responsible for understanding authorization status in their state of residence. Official pageSource: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureUC cannot confirm whether a program meets professional licensure requirements in a student's state of residence; students should contact their licensing board. Official disclosureSource: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ucumberlands.edu/about/accreditation-information — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ucumberlands.edu/academics/graduate/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ucumberlands.edu/academics/graduate/phd-counselor-education-and-supervision — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ucumberlands.edu/tuition-aid/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Kentucky first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of the Cumberlands. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.