Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University · Department of Counseling, Educational Leadership and Higher Education

Online Counseling, M.A. - Addiction Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

Fully online 60-credit M.A. in Counseling (addiction counseling concentration) combining live synchronous and asynchronous courses with no residency requirement; the 100-hour practicum and 600-hour internship are completed at sites in the student's local area.

Official program name
Online Counseling, M.A. - Addiction Counseling Concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mount Pleasant, MIWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
minimum of 60 credit hours
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework)
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a hybrid program on the Mt. Pleasant campus (separate record); students apply to the site they plan to attend.

Why this program is listed

Master of Arts in Counseling with a addiction counseling concentration.

Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum near the end of the program; 40 hours face-to-face work with clients
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship; 240 direct face-to-face hours; concentration-specific site
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesThe program assists students in finding sites, but the student is responsible for securing a site
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
2.5 hours of supervision per week; site supervisor available onsite
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum may be completed at the on-campus Center for Community Counseling & Development Clinic (CCCD); space is limited
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Practicum and internship placements in the student's local area
Source: online.cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Dedicated practicum and internship coordinator assists with site placement and supervisor approval, including outside Michigan
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 42-hour core including CED 690 Counseling Practicum, plus CED 691 Internship (6 hours) and 12 concentration hours
    Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — Undergraduate GPA 2.8 minimum; applicants below 2.8 still considered
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required3-page APA formatted statement of purpose
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or short statement of relevant work or volunteer experience
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredOne-hour virtual group interview for invited applicants
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from undergraduate degree-granting institution and all graduate transcripts
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1 (priority; applications accepted until cohort fills) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    September 1 (priority; applications accepted until cohort fills) · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, U.S. resident tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$862per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$51,720 = 60 credits × $862 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,062per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$63,720 = 60 credits × $1,062 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Student Services Fee
$225 per semesterMandatory
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Graduate Assistantship AssistantshipCompetitive

    Role descriptions, tuition remittance and stipend information emailed to counseling students when positions become available

    Eligibility: Both CMU Online students and Hybrid students are eligible to apply.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Addiction Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 10, 2019 · current cycle ends October 31, 2029 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureAddiction Counselors are eligible for a Limited Licensed Counselor (LLC in Michigan and the Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC) in Michigan. Official disclosureSource: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureIf the CMU Counseling Program does not meet the requirements for licensure in the state an applicant wishes to seek licensure in, the applicant may not enroll in the CMU Counseling Program. Official disclosureSource: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cmich.smartcatalogiq.com/2026-2027/graduate-bulletin/colleges-and-departments/counseling-educational — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.cmich.edu/program/online-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. cmich.edu/academics/accreditation-and-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cmich.edu/academics/colleges/college-education-human-services/departments/counseling-educational-lea — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. cmich.edu/academics/colleges/college-education-human-services/departments/counseling-educational-lea — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. cmich.edu/offices-departments/finance-administrative-services/financial-services-reporting/student-a — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. cmich.edu/program/Counseling-MA — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Addiction Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Addiction Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 22, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education with a specialty in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Western New Mexico University logo

Western New Mexico University

Master of Counseling - Addiction Counseling (AC)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Silver City, NMSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified
Duration: three-year program · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,151.88 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Central Michigan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.