Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Seattle University campus — Seattle University, October 2022
Seattle University, October 2022. Campus photograph of Seattle University. · Photo: Another Believer · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Seattle, WAPrivate nonprofit NWCCUOfficial website

Seattle University's Counseling Department offers MAEd degrees in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling, each in an in-person format on the First Hill campus and an online format with required summer residencies in Seattle. All four are listed as CACREP-accredited and move to a 60-credit semester calendar for Fall 2027 entry.

Counseling programs at Seattle University

4 eligible programs verified (4 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

School Counseling, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education

School Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — School Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education with a specialty in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

School Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Masters of Arts in Education, School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — School Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since April 1, 1935 · next review 04/01/2032

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).

Institution

Official name
Seattle University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
900 Broadway, Seattle, WA 98122-4340
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
85 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-maed/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/online-clinical-de — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. seattleu.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-and-fees/graduate-cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

Seattle University Counseling Degrees (Master's)