Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Seattle University logo

Seattle University · Counseling Department

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education with a specialty in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP

Overview

Online MAEd in Clinical Mental Health Counseling: two years of asynchronous online coursework, a required four-day summer residency on the Seattle campus after the first and second years, and a third year of in-person practicum and internship at an approved site near the student with weekly online synchronous supervision. 60 credits over 3 years; listed as CACREP-accredited.

Official program name
Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Education with a specialty in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Seattle, WAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credits
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3 years
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Online version of the Clinical Mental Health Counseling MAEd; the in-person First Hill program is recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in clinical mental health counseling.

Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Four-day summer residency on campus after the first and second years

    twice (after years 1 and 2) · Seattle, WA

    Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    Required synchronous orientation (online)

    Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum: 100 hours, 40 direct client contact
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship: 600 hours, 240 direct client contact
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Weekly group supervision and individual on-site supervision
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
In-person practicum and internship at an approved site wherever the student lives in the United States
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Program assists with securing a field placement; Placement Coordinator approves sites
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Other

  • Educational components for Washington State Substance Use Disorder Certification
    Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.00 GPA; probationary admission possible below 3.00
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredLetter of intent
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two recommendation forms
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredOne-to-two-page professional resume
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
WaivedApplication fee waived for all applicants
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial or unofficial transcripts; official transcripts after acceptance
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedProgram does not offer F-1 visas
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE/GMAT required only for applicants with a non-graded bachelor's degree
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Final deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$70,110entire program · 2026-2027Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$779per creditEstimated tuition$46,740 = 60 credits × $779 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $70,110 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

College of Education Assessment Fee (billed annually)
$53 per academic yearMandatory
Source: seattleu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Ed.Accredited since January 14, 2016 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-maed/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/how-to-apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/online-clinical-de — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. seattleu.edu/academics/all-programs/clinical-mental-health-counseling-online-maed/practicum-and-inte — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. seattleu.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-and-fees/graduate-cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. seattleu.edu/policies-regulations/licensure-disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Washington first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Seattle University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.