Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University · Department of Counseling, Educational Leadership and Higher Education

Counseling, M.A. (Mt. Pleasant hybrid) - Addiction Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

60-credit M.A. in Counseling (addiction counseling concentration) on the Mt. Pleasant campus in a hybrid format, with about 40% of courses face to face and 60% online, admitting a Fall cohort; includes a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship.

Official program name
Counseling, M.A. (Mt. Pleasant hybrid) - Addiction Counseling Concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Mount Pleasant, MI
Required credits
minimum of 60 credit hours
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework)
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered fully online through CMU Online (separate record); students apply to the site they plan to attend.

Why this program is listed

Master of Arts in Counseling with a addiction counseling concentration.

Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Hybrid campus schedule
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum near the end of the program; 40 hours face-to-face work with clients
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship; 240 direct face-to-face hours; concentration-specific site
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesThe program assists students in finding sites, but the student is responsible for securing a site
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
2.5 hours of supervision per week; site supervisor available onsite
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum may be completed at the on-campus Center for Community Counseling & Development Clinic (CCCD); space is limited
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 42-hour core including CED 690 Counseling Practicum, plus CED 691 Internship (6 hours) and 12 concentration hours
    Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — Undergraduate GPA 2.8 minimum; applicants below 2.8 still considered
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required3-page APA formatted statement of purpose
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or short statement of relevant work or volunteer experience
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredOne-hour virtual group interview for invited applicants
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from undergraduate degree-granting institution and all graduate transcripts
Source: cmich.smartcatalogiq.com · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, U.S. resident tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$862per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$51,720 = 60 credits × $862 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,062per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$63,720 = 60 credits × $1,062 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Student Services Fee
$225 per semesterMandatory
Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Graduate Assistantship AssistantshipCompetitive

    Role descriptions, tuition remittance and stipend information emailed to counseling students when positions become available

    Eligibility: Both CMU Online students and Hybrid students are eligible to apply.

    Source: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Addiction Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 10, 2019 · current cycle ends October 31, 2029 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureAddiction Counselors are eligible for a Limited Licensed Counselor (LLC in Michigan and the Certified Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CAADC) in Michigan. Official disclosureSource: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureIf the CMU Counseling Program does not meet the requirements for licensure in the state an applicant wishes to seek licensure in, the applicant may not enroll in the CMU Counseling Program. Official disclosureSource: cmich.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cmich.smartcatalogiq.com/2026-2027/graduate-bulletin/colleges-and-departments/counseling-educational — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. cmich.edu/academics/accreditation-and-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cmich.edu/academics/colleges/college-education-human-services/departments/counseling-educational-lea — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cmich.edu/academics/colleges/college-education-human-services/departments/counseling-educational-lea — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. cmich.edu/offices-departments/finance-administrative-services/financial-services-reporting/student-a — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. cmich.edu/program/Counseling-MA — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Emporia State University logo

Emporia State University

Clinical Counseling - Addictions Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Emporia, KS
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Montclair State University

MA in Counseling, Addictions Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Montclair, NJ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as little as 2½ to 3 years (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $962 per credit · All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and Spring · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $57,720 (60 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Central Michigan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.