Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo · Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed

Overview

The 60-credit rehabilitation counseling MS delivered part-time online in under three years, two courses per term including summers, with some required synchronous sessions. Fieldwork is a 150-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship with weekly online group supervision.

Official program name
Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Buffalo, NYWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
completed in less than three years (part-time online)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered on campus (see ms-rehabilitation-counseling).

Why this program is listed

CACREP-accredited master's in rehabilitation counseling, part-time online format with its own schedule and spring start.

Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Orientation Not required

    Online students are invited to attend the GSE, department and program orientations via streaming

    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required150 hours. CEP 597 Counseling Practicum, 150 contact hours (4 credits)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. CEP 600 RC Internship, 600 contact hours (12 credits)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherStudents secure practicum and internship placements via the Clinical Coordinator
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Weekly synchronous evening group supervision; campus students on campus, online students online
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — At least two recommenders
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredAdmission interview required
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 non-refundable application fee
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all colleges attended
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Dec. 15 (online option only) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate (includes Certificates), full-time per semesterFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,655per semesterSource: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per creditEstimated tuition$28,260 = 60 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Fall 2026 Resident Graduate fees, full-time per semester
$1,659.86 per semesterMandatory
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside New York.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • NY residents in exclusively online programs pay the resident tuition rate; non-residents pay the non-resident online rate.
    Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the educational requirements for licensure/certification in the state of New YorkSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ed.buffalo.edu/academics/masters/rehab-counseling.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ed.buffalo.edu/content/dam/ed/program-handbooks/csep/Rehab-Counseling-MS-Handbook-2.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/fall.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/tuition-for-online-academic-programs.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework
Location: San Diego, CASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,150 (60 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University at Buffalo. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.