Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo · Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

School Counseling, EdM

Awarded degree: Master of Education (EdM)

School Counseling

Master'sEdMCACREP: not listed

Overview

A 61-credit, on-campus EdM in school counseling completed full-time over four semesters and two summers, starting in summer. Students accumulate over 750 hours of in-school contact at K-8 and 9-12 levels through fieldwork, practicum and internship.

Official program name
School Counseling, EdM
Awarded degree
Master of Education (EdM)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Buffalo, NY
Required credits
61 graduate credits
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
4 semesters + 2 summers (full-time) (full-time)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling leading to NY school counselor certification.

Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCEP 597 Counseling Practicum: School Counseling (Spring 1)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCEP 600 Internship: School Counseling (Fall 2 and Spring 2)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
Over 750 hours of in-school contact
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Experience at both K-8 and 9-12 levels; more than 100 partner placement sites
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of education and career goals (750-1200 words)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — At least three recommenders
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredAdmission interview required
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 non-refundable application fee
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all colleges attended
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE/MAT scores may be sent but are not required.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate (includes Certificates), full-time per semesterFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,655per semesterSource: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per creditEstimated tuition$28,731 = 61 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Fall 2026 Resident Graduate fees, full-time per semester
$1,659.86 per semesterMandatory
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the educational requirements for licensure/certification in the state of New YorkSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ed.buffalo.edu/academics/masters/school-counseling.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ed.buffalo.edu/content/dam/ed/program-handbooks/csep/Rehab-Counseling-MS-Handbook-2.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/fall.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University at Buffalo. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.