Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Buffalo, NYPublic MSCHEOfficial website

The Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology in UB's Graduate School of Education offers an MS in mental health counseling and an MS in rehabilitation counseling, each on campus or online, an on-campus EdM in school counseling, and an APA-accredited PhD in counseling psychology and school psychology.

Counseling programs at University at Buffalo

5 eligible programs verified (5 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Mental Health Counseling, MS (on campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: On campus, full-time: 5 semesters, or 4 semesters plus summer (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (on campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Buffalo, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required150 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 4 to 6 full-time semesters (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

School Counseling, EdM

Awarded degree: Master of Education (EdM)

School Counseling

Master'sEdMCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: 4 semesters + 2 summers (full-time) (full-time) · 61 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Mental Health Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; internship required600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 4 years, including 2 summers (part-time online) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required150 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: completed in less than three years (part-time online) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1921 · next review 01/01/2032

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Rehabilitation Counseling, ACAdvanced certificate, not a degree.Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School Counseling, ACAdvanced certificate, not a degree.Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Counseling Psychology and School Psychology, PhD (counseling psychology specialization) (Doctor of Philosophy (PhD))APA-accredited combined PhD with a counseling psychology specialization that prepares psychologists (related classification). Art/music therapy, school psychology, ABA and coaching are outside the counseling directory.Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Mental Health Counseling Online Adv. Cert.Advanced certificate, not a degree.Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Undergraduate Minor in CounselingMinor, not a degree.Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University at Buffalo
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
12 Capen Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-1660
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
58 master's, 6 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. ed.buffalo.edu/academics/doctorate/counseling-psych.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ed.buffalo.edu/content/dam/ed/program-handbooks/csep/Rehab-Counseling-MS-Handbook-2.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ed.buffalo.edu/counseling.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ed.buffalo.edu/counseling/contact.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/tuition-for-online-academic-programs.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile