Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo · Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology

Mental Health Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed

Overview

The same 60-credit MS in mental health counseling delivered part-time online over four years including two summers, through synchronous and asynchronous courses. The 600-hour internship is completed at an approved site; the clinical coordinator helps match students to sites.

Official program name
Mental Health Counseling, MS (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science (MS) in Mental Health Counseling
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Buffalo, NYWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
4 years, including 2 summers (part-time online)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a full-time on-campus format (see ms-mental-health-counseling).

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in mental health counseling (LMHC track), part-time online format with its own schedule and deadline.

Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Internship
Required600 hours. 12-credit internship, 600 hours across two semesters, including at least 240 direct client contact hours
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
On-site clinical supervisor plus instruction in CEP 600MHC
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
The Clinical Coordinator helps match students to internship sites
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Comprehensive exam and portfolio review required to graduate
    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from an accredited institution
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
Not verifiedMinimum 3 — Most admitted applicants have a minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — At least three recommenders
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 non-refundable application fee
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all colleges attended
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE/MAT scores may be sent but are not required.
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Online: March 13

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate (includes Certificates), full-time per semesterFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$5,655per semesterSource: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per creditEstimated tuition$28,260 = 60 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Fall 2026 Resident Graduate fees, full-time per semester
$1,659.86 per semesterMandatory
Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Masters in Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council (MPCAC)Status: AccreditedSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside New York.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • NY residents in exclusively online programs pay the resident tuition rate; non-residents pay the non-resident online rate.
    Source: buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)States Where Program Meets Educational Requirements: New York (New York State Education Department)Source: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingDoes not meetListed under States Where Program DOES NOT Meet Educational RequirementsSource: ed.buffalo.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ed.buffalo.edu/academics/masters/mental-health.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ed.buffalo.edu/content/dam/ed/program-handbooks/csep/Mental-Health-Counseling-MS-Handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ed.buffalo.edu/content/dam/ed/program-handbooks/csep/Rehab-Counseling-MS-Handbook-2.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/fall.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. buffalo.edu/studentaccounts/tuition-and-fees/tuition-for-online-academic-programs.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University at Buffalo. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.