Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
The University of Alabama logo

The University of Alabama · Department of Educational Studies in Psychology, Research Methodology, and Counseling (Counselor Education Program)

Rehabilitation Counseling, MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online M.A. in Rehabilitation Counseling with primarily synchronous live virtual classes. Students complete a 100-clock-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship at sites they secure, with university supervision by video conference; the program page states it does not lead to certification or licensure.

Official program name
Rehabilitation Counseling, MA
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Rehabilitation Counseling
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Professional purpose not verifiedWe did not find an official statement of the program's professional purpose.
School
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tuscaloosa, ALWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in rehabilitation counseling.

Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Other campus requirement Required

    From July 1, 2026, an in-person, synchronous experience to assess counseling skills and dispositions at least at two points (one before practicum); location not stated

    at least two points in the program

    Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Supervised practicum of 100 clock hours (BCE 546)
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship of at least 600 hours in an approved rehabilitation counseling setting, at least 240 in direct client contact
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesIt is the student's responsibility to secure a site for the field placement
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
University supervision provided via Zoom online video conference
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 (GRE route for applicants below 3.0)
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Purpose
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — At least two letters of recommendation (three preferred)
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/Resume
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with the Admission Committee, typically in a group format
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required — minimum 300Not required; applicants with a GPA below 3.0 may submit a combined verbal and quantitative score of 300 or higher for consideration.
Source: catalog.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • Priority deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — UA Online graduate rate (Fall 2026/Spring 2027/Summer 2027)From the university's online tuition table$480per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$28,800 = 60 credits × $480 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — Program total, 60 hours, 2025-2026 tuition rates$28,800entire program · 2025-2026Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,800 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Program total, 60 hours, 2025-2026 tuition rates, 2025-2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

College of Education graduate fee
$10 per creditMandatory
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Rehabilitation Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 1, 2017 · current cycle ends October 31, 2028 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Admission of out-of-state applicants to online programs depends on authorization from the applicant's state; UA is an approved NC-SARA institution. Official pageSource: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • The state of Alabama is a member of NC-SARA and the University is an approved NC-SARA institution. Official pageSource: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.ua.edu/graduate/education/educational-studies-psychology-research-methodology-counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.ua.edu/graduate/education/educational-studies-psychology-research-methodology-counseling/reh — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.ua.edu/about-us/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.ua.edu/degrees/ma-in-rehabilitation-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.ua.edu/tuition-financial-aid-scholarships/tuition-2/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Rehabilitation Counseling - Distance Option (CDER)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed Fully online coursework
Location: San Diego, CASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: typically two and a half to three years · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: March 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $36,150 (60 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling

Awarded degree: Master's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMACCACREP: not listed
Location: Lexington, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus other campus requirement; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 4 to 5 semesters in the accelerated program (12 to 16 credit hours a semester, including summer) (accelerated full-time load) · 60 credits
Tuition: $806 per credit · Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,360 (60 credits × $806 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Summer 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with The University of Alabama. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.