Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Ohio University logo

Ohio University · Department of Counseling and Higher Education, Patton College of Education

School Counseling Online Master's Degree (ME6332)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A fully online M.Ed. school counseling specialization (60 credit hours, most students finish in 6-7 semesters) with spring and summer admission. Students complete a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship under a licensed school counselor, with field placements identified with the department in their geographic area.

Official program name
School Counseling Online Master's Degree (ME6332)
Awarded degree
Master of Education
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Athens, OHWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
minimum of 60 semester hours
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
60 credit hours — most finish in 6-7 semesters
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Ohio University also offers the School Counseling specialization in person on the Athens campus (ME6274), recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Online M.Ed. school counseling specialization.

Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum with a minimum of 40 hours of direct interaction with students
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship across two semesters under the supervision of a licensed school counselor
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Field placement settings in the student's geographic area
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherStudents work with the Department to identify field placement settings
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Internship under the supervision of a licensed school counselor
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Students must attend the designated program orientation session prior to enrollment (format/location not stated).
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Capstone

  • EDCE 6810 Counseling Capstone in the core
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an institutionally accredited U.S. college or university or equivalent
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.9 — GPA of 2.9 or higher; lower GPA may apply with GRE scores
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (approximately 3-5 double-spaced pages)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with program leadership
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalStudents with a GPA lower than 2.9 may apply by submitting GRE Verbal and Quantitative scores
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    November 2, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Final deadline

    March 4, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$533per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$31,980 = 60 credits × $533 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$555per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$33,300 = 60 credits × $555 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,300 (60 credits × $555 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Non-refundable enrollment deposit, applied toward first semester tuition
$250Mandatory
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since March 1, 1985 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio University is approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in NC-SARA. Official pageSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationGraduates specializing in School Counseling are eligible to earn the Ohio Pupil Services license in school counseling upon successful completion of the OAE. Official disclosureSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ohio.edu/bursar/graduate-tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/counselor-education — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/online-school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/online-school-counseling/admissions-information — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/online-school-counseling/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ohio.edu/provost/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Ohio University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.