Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Ohio University logo

Ohio University · Department of Counseling and Higher Education, Patton College of Education

School Counseling Master's Degree, On-Campus (ME6274)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

An on-campus M.Ed. specialization in school counseling in Athens for pre-K-12 settings, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship. The same specialization is also offered fully online as a separate program code.

Official program name
School Counseling Master's Degree, On-Campus (ME6274)
Awarded degree
Master of Education
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Athens, OH
Required credits
minimum of 60 credit hours, including practicum and internship
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

M.Ed. in Counselor Education, school counseling specialization (on campus).

Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour counseling practicum with a minimum of 40 direct client contact hours
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship with a minimum of 240 direct client contact hours across two semesters
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents discuss potential sites with advisors, submit the application form, then arrange directly with agencies
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Supervised by a designated on-site supervisor and the faculty supervisor (or a doctoral student supervisor under faculty supervision)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.9 — GPA of 2.9 or higher on a 4.0 scale; applicants below 2.9 may apply with GRE scores
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of approximately 3-5 double-spaced pages
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredShort-listed applicants are invited for a group interview
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalRequired only for applicants with a GPA lower than 2.9
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 15 (review of applications begins) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$608per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$36,480 = 60 credits × $608 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,128per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$67,680 = 60 credits × $1,128 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident full-time comprehensive 9-18 credits per semesterFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$4,928per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state full-time comprehensive 9-18 credits per semesterFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$9,123per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since March 1, 1985 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Ohio University is approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in NC-SARA. Official pageSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationGraduates specializing in School Counseling are eligible to earn the Ohio Pupil Services license in school counseling upon successful completion of the OAE. Official disclosureSource: ohio.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ohio.edu/bursar/graduate-tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/ce-handbook/counselor-education-masters-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/ce-handbook/practicum-internship-masters-level — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/counselor-education — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ohio.edu/education/counseling-higher-education/school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ohio.edu/provost/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Dayton, OH
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $700 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Ohio University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.