Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Wright State University logo

Wright State University · Department of Human Services

Master of Education in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit hybrid MEd in School Counseling preparing counselors for K-12 settings, with a one-semester practicum and a two-semester internship (100 and 600 hours) under a professional school counselor supervisor. The page states CACREP accreditation since 1989, with the current term ending October 31, 2027.

Official program name
Master of Education in School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Education in School Counseling
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Dayton, OH
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time)
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master of Education in school counseling.

Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Hybrid campus schedule
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. One-semester practicum (100 hours) in the school setting.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Two-semester internship (600 hours) under the supervision of a professional school counselor.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Field experiences under the supervision of a professional school counselor supervisor.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
School counseling trainees are placed in K-12 public schools ranging from urban to rural.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA; conditional admission possible below 3.0 with department approval.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of educational and professional goals.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Minimum of three letters of recommendation.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredRequired 3-hour group interview for candidates approved after department review.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedTemporarily waived; applicants below the minimum GPA who opt out of a GRE score must submit a Graduate Admission Petition.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$700per creditEstimated tuition$42,000 = 60 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Non-Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,188per creditEstimated tuition$71,280 = 60 credits × $1,188 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Non-Ohio Resident, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A./M.Ed.Accredited since September 1, 1987 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/master-of-education-in-school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/practicum-and-internships-for-counseling-p — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. wright.edu/degrees-and-programs/profile/school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. wright.edu/raiderconnect/accounts-and-bills/graduate-and-professional-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

School Counseling Master's Degree, On-Campus (ME6274)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Wright State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.