Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Wright State University logo

Wright State University · Department of Human Services

Master of Science in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit hybrid MS in Counseling with a Clinical Mental Health concentration, with evening classes on campus and online, a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship. The program page states CACREP accreditation through October 31, 2027.

Official program name
Master of Science in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Dayton, OH
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time)
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling with a clinical mental health concentration.

Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Hybrid campus schedule
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Minimum of 100 total clock hours on site, with at least 1 clock hour per week of face-to-face supervision by an LPCC-S site supervisor.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 clock hours on site, of which 240 are direct client contact hours.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
For students intending to become a Professional Clinical Counselor, the site supervisor must be licensed as an LPCC-S.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Field settings include a variety of off-campus settings; an approved sites list is published.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA; conditional admission possible below 3.0 with department approval.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of educational and professional goals.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Minimum of three letters of recommendation.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredRequired 3-hour group interview for candidates approved after department review.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedTemporarily waived; applicants below the minimum GPA who opt out of a GRE score must submit a Graduate Admission Petition.
Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$700per creditEstimated tuition$42,000 = 60 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Non-Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,188per creditEstimated tuition$71,280 = 60 credits × $1,188 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (11–18 hours), Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$7,580per termSource: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition (11–18 hours), Non-Ohio ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$12,824per termSource: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Non-Ohio Resident, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A./M.S.Accredited since January 1, 2003 · current cycle ends October 31, 2027Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)This degree qualifies you to earn professional counseling licensure (LPC) in Ohio.Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/master-of-science-in-counseling-clinical-m — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/practicum-and-internships-for-counseling-p — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. wright.edu/degrees-and-programs/profile/school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. wright.edu/raiderconnect/accounts-and-bills/graduate-and-professional-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling Master's Degree (ME6278)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health/Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (ME6324)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 5-6 semesters of full-time attendance, depending on the area(s) of specialization (full-time)
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Wright State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.