Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Wright State University campus — Entrance sign to the Wright State University main campus, Fairborn, Ohio, USA.
Entrance sign to the Wright State University main campus, Fairborn, Ohio, USA.. Campus photograph of Wright State University. · Photo: K. Shimada · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
Wright State University logo

Wright State University

Dayton, OHPublic HLCOfficial website

Wright State University's Department of Human Services, in the College of Health, Education, and Human Services, offers a 60-credit Master of Science in Counseling with a Clinical Mental Health concentration and a 60-credit Master of Education in School Counseling. Both are hybrid programs with evening classes in Dayton, a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship.

Counseling programs at Wright State University

2 eligible programs verified (2 master's); formats: hybrid. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Location: Dayton, OH
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $700 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Wright State University logo

Wright State University

Master of Science in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Dayton, OH
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $700 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1968 · next review 08/31/2036

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “All programs at Wright State University are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).” Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Addictions Counseling Graduate CertificateGraduate certificate, not a degree.Source: health-education-human-services.wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Marriage and Family Graduate CertificateGraduate certificate, not a degree.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Trauma-Informed Counseling Graduate Certificate; Culturally Informed Counseling Graduate CertificateGraduate certificates, not degrees.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Combined Integrated Human Services, BS & Counseling, MSCombined bachelor's/master's pathway; the bachelor's is a human services degree and the master's is recorded separately.Source: wright.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Wright State University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
3640 Colonel Glenn Highway, Dayton, OH 45435-0001
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
9 bachelor's, 36 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. health-education-human-services.wright.edu/human-services/addictions-counseling-certificate — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. wright.edu/degrees-and-programs/profile/counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. wright.edu/degrees-and-programs/profile/marriage-family-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. wright.edu/degrees-and-programs/profile/school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile