Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University · Division of Counseling

Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling offered either 100% online (with two required onsite intensives) or onsite at the Indy North Regional Ed Center. It includes a 100-hour practicum and supervised internships and is described as CACREP-accredited in the student handbook.

Official program name
Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Marion, INWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Two-year minimum, and Six-year maximum
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The program page lists two tracks: 100% online (with two onsite intensives) and onsite at the Indy North Regional Ed Center (Indianapolis). One program page and handbook entry covers both tracks.

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical mental health counseling.

Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Intensive Required

    Two required onsite intensives for CMHC online students (during CNS 523 and CNS 524).

    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum supervised by university faculty, including at least 40 direct contact hours.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredInternships for CMHC, School Counseling and Addictions Counseling students consist of 300 total hours, 120 of them direct hours (as printed in the handbook); the program page describes community-based internships.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Onsite students complete practicum in the campus clinics; online students may complete practicum in the campus clinics or in the community.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Group supervision typically by a university faculty member; individual supervision by the site supervisor.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • All degree requirements must be completed within six years of enrollment.
    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate or graduate degree from an institution accredited by an ED- and CHEA-recognized agency.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTypewritten admissions essay including autobiography and philosophy of counseling.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations, at least one from a professional.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview by invitation.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredCriminal background check.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredRequired only for applicants with an undergraduate cumulative GPA below 3.0; verbal score of at least 146; successful graduate coursework may be substituted.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$635per creditEstimated tuition$38,100 = 60 credits × $635 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $38,100 (60 credits × $635 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Tevera one-time fee
$195 entire programMandatory
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since January 15, 2012 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • IWU is a member institution of NC-SARA and is authorized to deliver distance education courses and programs in all SARA-member states. Official pageSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensurePre-licensure disclosure for the CMHC MA, listing states where the curriculum meets, does not meet, or has not been determined to meet educational requirements (PDF, updated 2021-01-26). Official disclosureSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureApplicants are responsible for checking licensing requirements with their state licensing agency before beginning the program. Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.